Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

New Year Ramblings

Spiffy yet rarely-seen photo of Kyle taken by Kelly O'Connor at the 2007 Boston Baseball Writers dinner (Used with permission)

So in an effort to do things in the new year that are better for me, I’ve tried to limit my daily online time.  Because of this, I was late in getting the news that Kyle Snyder has a cool new job.

The Rays announced their Minor League on-field coaching and medical training staffs for the 2012 season on Thursday.

Two new coaches are in the mix, both of whom played in the Majors Leagues: former Rays catcher Paul Hoover, who will manage the Gulf Coast League Rays (Rookie), and Kyle Snyder, who will serve as the pitching coach for Hudson Valley (Short-Season A).

While I am always sad when a player decides it’s time to stop playing, coaching in the minors seems like the perfect beginning to a new career for Kyle and I’m excited for him. The Hudson Valley Renegades will be playing a series against the Lowell Spinners (in Lowell) August 18th through the 20th. It’s been a couple of years since I hit Lowell for a game…this might be the year I get back there!

The fact that my email accounts pretty much blew up with people excited to tell me about Kyle’s job amused me greatly.  Though I might sometimes get disillusioned by MLB, there are always little things that will remind me why I love it so much.

Slowly things are happening that are getting me excited for the new season.  On Saturday, January 14, the New Stars for Young Stars charity event at Jillian’s in Boston will be happening with, among others, Bobby Valentine and Jarrod Saltalamacchia appearing.  As I’ve mentioned before, the “special guest” at that event is Pedro Martinez.  If Pedro Martinez can’t get you excited for baseball you’re either without a soul or a Yankees fan.

And while it seems ridiculous that this event yearly gets me as happy as it does, Saturday, February 11th is Truck Day.  While this off-season has left me sad and full of doubt, Truck Day is, for me, like New Year’s Day.  It’s the beginning of the season and it erases the previous season, reminding us that spring is coming and with a new baseball season anything can happen.  This year, especially, I’ve been holding on to the idea of  Truck Day being the day when I finally snap out of this funk and embrace this team I love again.  It’s been a strange off-season for me.  I wouldn’t say the worst I’ve experienced but definitely the strangest.  I can’t remember a time when I had such conflicting feelings about the Red Sox and, really, baseball in general.

Am I the only one stuck in this ambivalent quagmire about the 2012 team?

January 7, 2012 - Posted by | 2012 | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I am definitely neck-deep in the quagmire.
    Did someone say Spinners? : )

    Comment by Nancy | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  2. Me too me too me too me too! On the Spinners!

    I am not feeling all that different about being a fan of the Red Sox nor do I doubt that I’ll be hooked on the games once they start. I am unclear about Bobby V and see some things about him that are likable. But I just don’t get what kind of personality they will have as a group. I need to see Mr. Pedroia….STAT.

    Comment by Becks | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  3. I wouldn’t say I’ve been in a quagmire but it has felt like a lackluster off season to me. Yesterday I received my bill for my spring training tickets and the letter from Ben Cherington said a lot of the right things.
    Here’s one excerpt:
    “There has been a tremendous amount of discussion about the end of the 2011 season. We understand why, but now it is time for all of us to begin looking forward. Our energies are focused on righting the ship. There are a series of issues to be addressed, and we are well on our way to taking measures to deal with them.”
    Can’t wait to read your blog after you see Pedro!

    Comment by Brenken | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  4. I agree with Ben that it is past time to move forward. I simply ignore any articles or tv reports that start with a reference to September collapse. It happened. It sucked. They are doing things to fix it. I don’t need to relive it or rehash it. It is over.

    Truck Day on Saturday? Sweet! I don’t get why people have to hate on it so much. It is kinda cool to me. I think we will show up. Even if it is just an excuse to see some of you folks.

    Comment by Becks | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  5. Please give a little extra applause from me to Pedro. For me, that’s the highlight of the off season so far and I’m very glad you’re going to be there.

    I’m very glad the 2011 season is over but I feel the changes are so enormous that I don’t know the team at all anymore and will have to start almost from scratch learning them again. I was amused, though, to find Saltalamacchia has already established himself in my head–I don’t know when that happened.

    Here’s to Truck Day! I always mark the date and search eagerly for the pictures you post when it happens. Thank you.

    Comment by Anita | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  6. “you’re either without a soul or a Yankees fan”

    Isn’t that the same thing?

    Comment by jere | January 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

