Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Blue Christmas

So last night I was discussing (with a fellow Red Sox fanatic) how I feel about the team right now.  The short (and I’m guessing obvious) conclusion is that, right now, I don’t find it fun or entertaining to talk or especially write about the Red Sox.  As a matter of fact, I find it quite painful.

It isn’t that I don’t care about the team…I do more than most (but not as much as some!)…but these past three and a half months (related to baseball) have sucked the life of me.  It’s to the point where nothing that gets published about them surprises me.  I found out yesterday that the Red Sox have suspended their rookie development program this year.  Which, for me, was the cherry on this shit sundae of an off-season.

“With all the change to coaching and medical staff we are going to focus January on making sure we are fully prepared for spring training,” Sox general manager Ben Cherington said in a text. “The rookie program will return in 2013.”

I have no reason to not believe Ben Cherington when he says the program will return…but it just feels like this announcement is the death knell for it and, along with just about everything else that has happened since September, it makes me sad.  I’m eager (and anxious) for this team to make an off-season move that doesn’t leave me scratching my head.  Just one would suffice.

Last night I had a dream that the World Series in 2012 was played between the New York Mets and Toronto Blue Jays and Pedro Martinez was the first base coach (?) for the Mets (who ultimately beat the Blue Jays in seven games).

So if the Red Sox continue to stomp on my soul at least I have the Mets in the World Series to look forward to?

Somehow that doesn’t make me feel all that much better.

December 24, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Great post. Came here from @SurvivingGrady and couldn’t agree with you more. With the Bruins and Patriots filled with seemingly hard-working likable guys willing to put team first I can’t help but cringe every time I hear anything mentioned regarding the Red Sox. I understand that there’s been coaching turnover but you have to assume that a lifelong baseball guy like Valentine would know who his coaches were going to be as soon as he was hired or could find out quickly in the last three weeks. As for the medical staff, I feel like that should have been established already too. Who have injured players been working out with / rehabbing with all off season? We have the best hospitals in the world. I remember hearing Theo talk about how important the Rookie Development Program because it prepared the young guys with how to talk to the, at times, vicious Boston media without getting themselves into trouble. This seems like just another example of a wayward ship floundering. Well, I’m done ranting!

    Comment by Amanda | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  2. You read my mind and my heart ( except for the 2012 WS)

    Comment by Cindy D | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  3. It’s Christmas morning, so first things first…

    Merry Christmas!

    As for the Sox, there will be an opening day roster, a manager, coaches, a medical staff and even players in the minors. How this all comes together and the kind of season it produces is in their hands… as it has always been.

    If I could have one thing for Christmas to give to this team, it would be simple… Play your best ball, knowing that along with me, so many others will be there watching and hoping… I will be there!

    Best to you and yours, Beazer!

    Comment by Tru | December 25, 2011 | Reply

  4. We’ve got to stick with them, through the good times and the bad. We’ve had a LOT of good times recently and are lucky to have those to reflect on. (I’m watching Ken Burn’s 10th inning as I write this.)
    Baseball, as everything in life, cycles through the good and bad. This might be bad, it might not. All I know is that I’ll be there to cheer them on on Opening Day and beyond, no matter what. They’ve given me some of the best memories of my life. I’ll alway love ’em for it.

    Comment by Kfish | December 25, 2011 | Reply

  5. Happy New Year, Cyn.

    Comment by Sharpie | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  6. OK, Red Sox 2011 sucked. But now it’s G O N E 🙂

    We’ve picked up a couple of good-looking back-of-da-bullpen guys and a steady defender for the right field platoon in exchange for Josh Reddick, a couple of possibles, and a bucket of balls. And John Lackey is out for the season doing every variety of re-hab. Not a bad start for the New Year. Dammitall, I say, Truck Day’s Februardy 11, spring WILL come. Heck with the glop. I need green grass and the pop of baseballs hitting the leather. Let’s get stoked!

    Comment by Elaine Apthorp | January 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

