Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Where to begin with the Red Sox?

In an effort to make sure I was familiar with what I was going to write about, I read Bob Hohler’s piece in the Boston Globe today.  I won’t link to it because it’s already getting so much buzz that I don’t need to contribute to their prosperity, but if you haven’t read it I reluctantly suggest you do if for no other reason than so you know what everyone else is talking about today.

None of it surprises me, not even the stuff about Tito.  There have been rumblings about his private life for a while (although nothing related to pain killers as mentioned in Hohler’s piece) and it’s a common story in sports isn’t it?  I can’t imagine anyone is surprised that Josh Beckett, John Lackey and Jon Lester acted like entitled asses.  It’s disappointing, though, that the Boston Globe writers on Twitter last night were teasing this story so excitedly.  They knew it would trash Tito (Chad Finn defended it today by saying it didn’t trash him it made people have more sympathy for him) and the rest of it was rehashing rumors and fleshing them out but it was their big story and, dammit, they weren’t going to care that it reads like the chicks from Inside Track wrote it.

So here’s where I am:  Rumors have Theo signing a five-year deal with the Chicago Cubs and I’m okay with that.  Let him go.  If even half of what is written in that piece is true (and I’m not arguing that any of it is false) bring in a new GM and a new manager and show these players that they need to earn their pay.  I don’t think the team needs to be blown up but if they got rid of John Lackey and maybe even Josh Beckett I wouldn’t mind.  Jon Lester, well, I’ve never kept my feelings about his attitude a secret but I wonder if his pals weren’t there he’d be less inclined to mess around?

I also have a sense of wanting the old guys gone.  Wakefield, Varitek, maybe even Papi. While, again, I don’t think they need to completely clean house, this is going to be a new team with new leadership and I’m good with watching the team resurrect itself.  Lots of people are worried about the team becoming what it was before the new ownership took over but, honestly, none of us saw Theo Epstein and Terry Francona being responsible for the first World Series championship in 86 years until game 7 of the 2004 ALCS.  I’m not about to disregard what new blood could do for this team again just yet.

Things suck for the Red Sox and their fans right now…there’s no getting around it.  But things have sucked before and we got through it.  This time they suck with an ownership that cares about how bad it is and has the resources to change things. I’m annoyed today but a small part of me is looking forward to seeing what the team does to make us forget this God-awful fall.

If the rumors are true and Theo is going to Chicago for five years and $15 million, I wish him (and the Cubs) luck.  I feel like we got Theo in his prime (much like Pedro Martinez) and don’t begrudge him wanting to move on.  I’m a little cranky today, though, so while I wish luck, I don’t wish success.  Maybe that’ll come at a later date.  Today all I want is for them to get to working on that clean slate.

October 12, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Just finished reading that article and it makes me wish we could go back 2 months in time. RSN would be allowed to send 25 people into the clubhouse to kick the behinds of certain players.
    If you’re winning (talking mostly about the pitchers), then go ahead and play games and drink and eat. When you start losing and your ERA is the worst of any starter in the major leagues (this is for Lackey), then maybe, just maybe, it’s time to reevaluate what you’re doing. This is your job for which you are getting paid very handsomely and you don’t seem to care to do the best you can do. C’mon!
    I agree the it’s time for Wake and Varitek to hang up their cleats and for Tek to hand over his “C” to someone else since he didn’t seem to do a very good job as captain this year. I honestly hope we never have to see Lackey in a Sox uniform ever again and I don’t care what it costs the team (it ain’t my money as they say).
    Keep Lester and I’m on the fence about Beckett and Ortiz.
    One columnist in the Ft Myers paper mentioned Theo goes to the Cubs, moves the Cubs into City of Palms Park, and the Cubs break their curse winning the World Series. All major league teams who have trained in Ft. Myers have won a World Series while here. There are tons of Cubs fans around here.

    Comment by Brenken | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. Yeah, I read Hohler’s article today and was sickened.

    We all heard the rumors and whispers, but this piece got me pretty angry.

    Finn can what the hell he wants, but in my opinion, you do wind up feeling bad for Francona. Why? Because Francona was thrown under the bus in a way that I believe has Larry Lucchino’s dirty fingers all over it.

    I understand all too well how marriages can fall apart. I also know how people live in pain every day, needing medication to ease all the nonstop hurt. Was this really necessary as a means to justify the Sox not wanting to pick up Francona’s options?

    But the larger question that really rumbles around is where was Theo in all of this? I mean, Francona’s presser gave us two important things. One was that he sought help from his management, and nothing was done. Secondly, he would have stayed if the options were exercised.

    And Larry was puzzled?

    Coughbullshitcough.

    This article says to me that at all levels of the organization, the dysfunction was so great, even asking for help led to what… stereo headphones and a night floating on the good ship John Henry? Um, please.

    As for the players, I am stunned with two guys and for different reasons.

    Beginning with Tim Wakefield, I’m still wondering if his all-around good guy image was smoke and mirrors and we finally got to see a guy more concerned with personal records than his annual team first persona. Loved all you did Wake, but for me, you need to hang them up.

    Jon Lester should hang his head in total shame. Francona was a like a second father to that kid, especially when he came back from serious illness. Anyone who has ever watched Lester pitch always saw the outright pride and affection his manager gave him. For Lester to pal up with Lackey and Beckett with an attitude that most fans despise, well, he needs to have a thorough ass kicking and remember that he’s not all that. He really has embittered me.

    Lackey sucks, plain and simple. Whoever the new GM is, I hope they unload this toad. He makes Derek Lowe faces seem bland; they smack of involuntary facial steroids.

    And Mr. Beckett? You have all the tools, brother. But have become the punch line of million dollar talent, five cent head. Smarten up.

    Relative to Larry, the only puzzle here is how you got all this crud under your fingernails into Hohler’s hands.

    Funny thing is, even after teeing off, I still feel lousy.

    And the worst part is that along with everyone else, I’ll be here next year, waiting, watching and hoping.

    If it’s Valentine, you can catch me watching water polo…

    Comment by Tru | October 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

