Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Prepare Ye

I used to collect baseball cards.  First when I was a kid…I used to beg my parents for money to buy packs of Topps.  I lost all those cards in a basement flood.  Then as an adult I used to buy boxes of old baseball cards for $1 a box at some store in New Hampshire.  I lost those cards in a house fire.

I never collected cards for their worth except for what they were worth to me.  I really like looking at the old cards and remembering the players and what was going on, not just in baseball but in my life, at the time those guys were playing.  So I was tickled to buy a big box of baseball cards for $5 the other day and I was especially pleased that two of the cards in the box were the above Terry Francona and Dave Magadan cards.  It’s the little things that give me the greatest pleasure lately.

My parents are away celebrating their anniversary and yet even in the midst of that they took the time to call me last night to alert me to the no-hitter that was being thrown against the Yankees.  That gives you a perfect idea of the importance of baseball throughout my entire family.

As things stand right now, I still intend to host the Live Chat for tomorrow (Wednesday’s) game which means the starting pitchers for our first chat of 2011 will be Josh Beckett and Jeremy Guthrie.  Could be a good one!

I thought I wanted the day off yesterday but it feels like it’s been days since the Sox played.  Looking forward to their getting back to it tonight.

April 26, 2011 - Posted by | 2010 | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hey Cyn- I used to collect cards when I was a kid too. I had (have) 1,100 of them and also never collected them for their “worth”. I loved them and opening a new pack was like opening a package on Christmas morning. My dad is hanging onto my collection until I ask for them. (I currently have a little one who would tear them to shreds should she get her hands on them…) I lament the fact that my kids won’t be able to afford to collect cards and get the same joy from them that I did. They’re WAY too expensive now and the delight of getting a great rookie card or card of an All-Star is squashed by all the special sets they put out now. Ugh. I wish it would go back to the way it was.

    My dad used to take me to the yearly baseball card conventions and always bought the lithographs that they put out each year for the shows. As a result I have beautiful lithographs, all framed nicely, some with original baseball cards inset in the mat of Ted Williams, Mickey Mantle, among others, waiting for me as well.

    By the way, where did you pick up your $5 box o’ cards?

    Hope you’re feeling better soon and hope to join the chat next Wednesday!

    Comment by Kfish | April 28, 2011 | Reply

    • A store called “Five Below”. I want to go back for more. 🙂

      Thanks for all the good wishes, folks. Still feeling a little punky but much better than I was.

      Comment by Toeing the Rubber | April 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

