Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Some Housekeeping

So a friend of mine asked me to help with setting up a blog for her and in getting it together I showed her other blogs so she could get an idea of what she liked.  Upon visiting Metsgrrl’s blog she noticed the comments section and decided she wanted to use one like it.  So we signed up for Disqus and started playing with the different functions and I decided that she and Metsgrrl had the right idea.  So starting today, the comments section will look a little different.  For me, the change means a bit more ease to moderate comments that need moderating and for you it is a better looking comments section complete with the ability to add photos, “like” someone else’s comment and comment from your Twitter, Facebook or other accounts (or just comment the way you have, by supplying a screen name an email address that will NOT be posted publicly).

I know how much folks hate change but I promise this change is seamless (and all comments have been brought along so none have been lost).  The comments section tends to be slow around here unless we get a good argument going and maybe this will invite more folks to comment.  I get a lot of emails from folks saying “I didn’t want to leave this as a comment” for various reasons.  Hopefully the new comments section will be more inviting.

Folks have been asking about the first live chat of the season and I was getting all ready to announce that it would be next Tuesday until I realized the Red Sox game was at 10:05pm.  Historically, we don’t get many people chatting for the west coast games so I’m considering an old-fashioned live blog for that game to be followed up by a live chat on Wednesday for the 3:35pm game against the A’s.  I’m aiming toward Wednesday, April 27th for our first official prime time live chat.  We’ll see how that goes!

And, finally, coming up today I’ll be announcing another contest, this one to win a baseball-related book.  So keep a look out!

Clay Buchholz is back on the mound tonight to kickstart the first winning streak of the year for the Red Sox!

April 15, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Now I understand why the comments from your last blog were in a different order. Now they go from newest to oldest instead of the other way around. I wish you could see how many comments have been left on a blog to know if new comments have been added. Right now it just says “view comments” and you don’t know if there are actually any comments to view.

    Live chat during a late night game is a good way to feel less sleepy for those of us stupid enough to stay up until the wee hours of the morn. This team needs some live chat mojo and quickly!

    Comment by Brenken49 | April 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. I don’t care what she says, Brenken is not 49.

    Comment by DON in VA | April 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. How about Tim Wakefield wears the number 49? Don, you’re right that I’m not 49, I’m a shade over 50 (not telling how big the shade is though).

    Comment by Brenken49 | April 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

