Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

No Joke, Opening Day has Arrived!

Outside my window the sky and the ground are both white.  I can hear the cars driving through slush as I type this.  If not for the Internet and the MLB Network, it wouldn’t feel like an Opening Day at all.  But, dammit, it is and I’m so happy I could just spit.

(Why would someone spit if they were happy?  I’ve messed that up, haven’t I?  Oh well.  I already spit so it’s too late now.)

Probably not ten minutes after yesterday’s Yankees/Tigers game was over, I received an email from one of my long-time Yankee fan readers that said simply “Yankees are in first place!”.  Now, he was joking.  I know he was joking because he’s one of the few fans who contact me and identify as a Yankee fan who I’ve enjoyed discussing baseball with (most of the time).  But just for a moment, for  a fraction of a second, I got that feeling.  That old “God, I hate the Yankees so freaking much” feeling that many of you are familiar with.  I am quite ready for it to be on this season.

In my new, ongoing effort to share the voices of fellow bloggers, I give you Kristin over at Extra Bases, who is starting her new blog, and the new season, with a poem for Opening Day!

Anything is possible when the season begins.  I’m going to try and embrace that idea and enjoy the heck out of this day!

April 1, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I admit to thinking the same thing when the Yankees won yesterday and I’m a Sox fan. I am so glad the Sox are opening in Texas where it will be nice and warm for them today. The clock is moving awfully slowly today.
    Happy opening day for all the Sox fans out there!

    Comment by Brenken | April 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. I wasn’t joking Cyn. This might be the last time I get to say that the Yankees are in first.

    Comment by Derek | April 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

