Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Congrats Carl!

Screen grab from a video over at MLB.com

I’m sure, no I’m POSITIVE there have been times whether on this blog or in person I have said something negative about Carl Crawford.  Probably starting with “Son of a bitch!” which is to say that usually he was getting the best of the Red Sox when I said it (also there is that whole “almost beheading Matt Clement” that I’ve yet to get over).  But he’s always been a player I secretly coveted.  Guy works  his butt off and it shows in the way he plays. Plus, if he’s on the Red Sox he isn’t stealing bases on our pitchers and catchers, right?

But I’m finding that there is a bit of animosity from some in Red Sox Nation against Crawford.  It seems it comes mostly from his part in the basebrawl most famous for Coco Crisp losing his shit on James Shields.  Meh.  The guy wears red stockings now and I can forgive and forget…well, except for Clement but that’s totally irrational on my part since it isn’t like Crawford planned to hit him in the ear now is it?* See, I know when I’m being irrational!  Bottom line is that I like Crawford and it seems I’m not the only one:

Prior to the Grapefruit League finale at City of Palms Park between the Rays and Red Sox on Tuesday, the Tampa media presented Crawford with the BBWAA Rays MVP and the Paul C. Smith Champion Awards. The Champion Award, named for the MLB.com writer who died in February 2005, goes to the player who best exemplifies the spirit of true professionalism on and off the field.

It’s a nice honor for Crawford and a nice little legacy to leave in Tampa Bay as he begins his career in Boston.  I’d love him to bookend his first season with the Red Sox with these awards to begin it and maybe a couple of MVP awards (LCS and World Series would work for me!) to end it!

Congratulations, Carl.

* I’m mostly joking.  I will admit this, though:  I never see Carl Crawford that my first thought doesn’t go to Matt Clement.  My memory, for certain things, can be very long.

March 29, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I forgot he was the guy who hit Clement. Wasn’t he also the guy who hit the foul ball that injured Tek’s foot last year? So much nicer to have him on our side.

    Comment by Kristen | March 29, 2011 | Reply

  2. And Adrian Beltre has deadly rib-seeking kneecaps. But I forgive him. What a marvelous season’s work he put in for the Sox in 2010 :-).

    And I too am extremely pumped that the Craw Man is wearing red stockings to the office for the next seven years. All these years he was tormenting us with the Rays I’ve been enjoying him against my will–he’s just so beautiful to watch on the basepaths and in the field–and now I get to surrender joyfully to the bliss :-).We’re gonna have SO much fun watching him play. And I get little baseballgeek tingles thinking about the creativity we are going to see in left field–and left center–with this premier outfielder patrolling that short field at the Fens. I think he’ll throw somebody out at first before it’s all over :-).

    Comment by Elaine Apthorp | March 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

