Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

When it’s time to change…

Photo courtesy of Kelly O'Connor and used with permission

Anyone who knows me or who has read this blog for any prolonged period knows how easily I get bored when it comes to this blog.  Not with the subject, I could go on about the Red Sox forever, and not with the interactions with you all, I love that part of it, but with the look of it and (sometimes) the name.  The little things.

I was so fond of being “Red Sox Chick” that it took a lot for me to change the name of the blog.  Once I changed it, I wasn’t sure I’d like it for too long, but it has stuck, now, longer than RSC did!  So changing the name of the blog isn’t an option…I like it too much.  That means the look of the blog is always in peril.  Today I changed the look. I like it.   It’s cleaner and easier to read.  I feel like I can actually SEE the blog without all the distractions.  There are a few other technical things that I prefer about it as well.  SO, for now, it’s here to stay.

The only negative I find so far is that all the white reminds me of  snow.

Snow in my yard, snow in the street and snow on my blog.  Man, I need spring.

February 23, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 |

13 Comments »

  1. Me likey. Is it a different publishing platform or just a new design? Me, I’m still working on mapping the domain I just bought…still not sure what to do about the design long term.

    Comment by beth | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. If white is the only thing you don’t like…might I suggest using the grey color of the grey uniforms? that way it’s still about baseball? I’ve been playing with mine and still not finished but I dont like using white either. Otherwise I like change and I agree Toeing The Rubber is YOU…

    Comment by Tex19 | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. I actually like the white…I just wish it was white in April 🙂

    Still the same platform, Beth, just playing around with different themes. The more I look at it the more I like it!

    Comment by Cyn | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. The white is ok. Maybe you could put color in the title, like a banner or something?

    Comment by cynthia | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. I don’t care for it that much. It’s ok, but sorta “plain vanilla” in appearance. Not distinctive. But, I also liked Red Sox Chick better than Toeing the Rubber, so what do I know. I’ll still follow you.

    Comment by DON in VA | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  6. I like it!

    Comment by Becky | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  7. Wow, it opened up so large on my screen it scared me. I can’t even read the whole blog name without scrolling across. Is that only happening for me?

    Comment by Brenken | February 23, 2011 | Reply

  8. Oh I misunderstood your comment about it being white.
    Brenken the entire name of the blog is fine for me. I do like having the Post being all you can see when you open it…so all the attention is fully on it.

    Comment by Tex19 | February 24, 2011 | Reply

  9. I like it. I agree with cynthia about maybe having a banner, a close-up shot of a glove on grass or something equally baseball with your blog name as minimalist and unfussy as it is now. I always lean toward too plain over too busy, though, and this has a sweet clean look.

    Comment by slidingsideways | February 24, 2011 | Reply

  10. Much easier to read – I like it.

    Comment by Sharpie | February 24, 2011 | Reply

  11. I read the first paragraph on Facebook and wasn’t sure where you were headed but as soon as I hit the link I chuckled, I’ve been reading long enough I should have known it meant a design change. I go to my parents house when I want to be around a layout that never changes, here I like to see you mix things up.

    Comment by Dawn | February 24, 2011 | Reply

  12. I like this look a lot. I’m just glad your’re keeping the name because if you go back to RSC I might have to disown you.

    Comment by becks | February 24, 2011 | Reply

  13. Sizing is still an issue, which might be a matter of testing in different browsers. Other than that, it’s of no real consequence what the “look” changes into. A couple of years ago, no one would have thought Carl Crawford or Adrian Gonzalez would be suiting up for the Red Sox, which is in the same vein as what’s happening here… Same uniform, same team, same loyal following; high octane output!

    A bend in the road is not the end of the road, unless you fail to make the turn…

    Comment by Tru | February 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

