Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Brian Wilson Randomness

Brian Wilson.

Initially, I kind of got a kick out of him.  But he wears on me now.  I feel like he’s trying much too hard to be funny or edgy or quirky or all three.

Wilson is driving what appears to be a fully equipped police cruiser, complete with a loudspeaker. He literally announces his arrival when he pulls into the Scottsdale Stadium parking lot, getting on the horn to blare, “I’m heeeere” to the group of autograph seekers lining the rail.

I read this today and my first thought was that he went from being amusing to being boorish.  We get it, Brian.  You’re wacky.  You go on national late night talk shows and bring a teammate dressed in bondage gear.  You wear a mohawk and have tattoos and a beard.

I don’t get it.  I mean, I don’t dislike the guy.  He’s a good pitcher and I was happy for him and his team to win the World Series.  He reminds me of someone I know who is constantly telling people he’s a renegade, a rebel, a non-conformist.  It’s difficult not to roll my eyes.  The in your face stuff just grows old with me.

Maybe I’m just having a bad day.

February 21, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 |

4 Comments »

  1. I”m glad I’m not the only one who’s hit overload on Brian Wilson. He has definitely jumped the shark! (Maybe I’m having a bad day, too? 🙂 )

    Comment by Beth | February 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. While watching the MLB 2K11 video game commercial yesterday, I made the conscious decision to simply be amused by Brian Wilson. I have enough real things to annoy me. Reading your account of his arrival at Spring Training may change things for me, though. That’s really over the top.

    I saw him pitch once at the AA level up here in Portland and he blew the Sea Dogs away. He was amazing. My opinion of him was once so high…I was rooting for him to make it to the majors and was excited when he did.

    Comment by Kfish | February 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. Baseball is a serious game, for serious people. Mr. Wilson denigrates the game and is an attention seeking whore. In an effort to help him, I’ve reached out, but he was too busy partying.

    All the best –

    Johnny

    Comment by Johnny Damon | February 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

