Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Props when they are deserved

I am often critical of Steve Buckley and his writing but what he did today took a lot of courage and I felt like he certainly needed to be lauded for it.  There is no way it could have been easy for him to publicly share this with us and I think his coming out is a wonderful thing.  I give most people the benefit of the doubt and I think if he was comfortable sharing this now, he isn’t worried about the reactions of the athletes he covers and that he probably doesn’t care if some of his readers abandon him because of it.

Does it matter that Steve Buckley is gay?  No it doesn’t.  No more than it matters that Gerry Callahan is straight.  But it matters that he has taken the step of coming out.  It will matter to a lot of people, a lot of gay people who don’t get to see themselves represented in sports media.  Maybe there’s a high school kid who wants to be a sports writer and is afraid being gay will make that difficult and Steve Buckley just showed him today that it isn’t necessarily the case?  Maybe Buckley has peers who will feel more comfortable now about being themselves and won’t worry about hiding a part of who they are?  This isn’t sports news and it isn’t baseball-related but it IS a big deal in that world. Good for Steve for finally being comfortable enough to be who he is to everyone, not just those who know him.

I’ll still never forgive him for his rants and lies about Nomar, though (and his various other shortcomings I’ve written about in the past).  Steve Buckley coming out is a good, positive thing.  Still doesn’t change the fact that he’s Steve Buckley.  (Wouldn’t want you all to think I’ve gone soft on the Boston Sports Media!)

January 6, 2011 - Posted by | 2011 |

4 Comments »

  1. Huge props to the man for coming out. It’s never easy, especially in the sports world. He’s got to make his living working with a lot of folks who are homophobic. It took guts to take that on. Bravo!

    Maybe coming out will make Buck a better sportswriter! 🙂

    Comment by Elaine Apthorp | January 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’m not sure he’s not worried about his readers or the athletes he covers, but at a minimum, he’s decided that being open about who he is–and potentially advancing the cause of others who are gay–is more important than whatever could happen to him, and I tip my cap to him for that.

    I wish I could find the column Ed Gray wrote for the Herald when he came out in 2003, which was also brave and poignant.

    Comment by KellyO | January 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. I read an article yesterday about a Welsh Rugby player who has come out in the press, and on Ellen, about being gay. Now, I’m straight. But I am enough of a sports fan to know what a “good old boy”‘s club they certainly are.

    I applaud the courage of these guys. I really do.

    Comment by Alexis | January 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. Buckley’s admission of his lifestyle is proof that being gay doesn’t always mean being handicapped in some warped way; the province of addled, confused thinkers. His columns, good and bad will continue to be just that and I will not stop reading his stuff.

    What will be very interesting, though, is if he decides to use his columns differently going forward.

    Someday, maybe in my lifetime, something like this would not be newsworthy… at least I hope.

    Comment by Tru | January 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

