Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

A Family Needs Your Help

A sad update to Andrew’s story. His family tells us that they found his body close to home (overlooked during the initial search because he was under leaves) on Christmas Eve.

I wanted to thank those who commented and those who shared this link to help spread the word of Andrew’s disappearance. It was a sad end to a sad story and my thoughts and prayers are with his family and all of those who love him.

Andrew Hinterleitner

I don’t use this blog for anything other than baseball, usually, but I got a call today about a family friend and feel like this is the best place to get the word out.

Our friend’s nephew is missing.  His name is Andrew Hinterleitner and he went missing from Revere Beach Parkway in Revere, Massachusetts.  He recently went through surgery for a brain aneurysm and was sent hope after a period of hospitalization.  Andrew is white male, in his late 30s,  around 5″6″ and very thin.  His stent is prominent in the front of his forehead.  The family isn’t sure what time he left the house but they know it was before 6am on Friday, December 17th.  .  Because of his condition, he wears a diaper.  He was last seen wearing a pair of shorts, sneakers & a t-shirt, without a jacket.

I put this out here because Andrew’s family tried to contact the local media and were told the story wasn’t newsworthy.  (Edited to add that it should be noted that the Revere Police ARE looking for him and have been since Friday.) It’s my hope that someone sees this message and is able to help the Hinterlitner family.

Thank you for your attention, folks, it means a lot.

(I have contact information for the family if anyone does know anything about Andrew’s whereabouts.  Email me at one of the addresses linked to in my sidebar.)

Edited to add a link with more information.  Both Channel 5 in Boston and the Daily Lynn Item online have now covered Andrew’s story.

December 27, 2010 - Posted by | 2010 |

12 Comments »

  1. I’m shocked the media refused to air this!!! Did they try radio as well? My God, it’s Christmas…how could this NOT be media ‘worthy’?

    Comment by Tex19 | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. I don’t know all the specifics of who they contacted or where, just that I was told the people they DID contact refused to air the story. They’re actually relatives of friends so I’m only able to report what was relayed to me when they asked if I could help. I sent out messages to a few contacts via Twitter and hopefully someone will pick it up.

    Breaks my heart.

    Comment by Cyn | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. i actually heard about this on channel 5, shocked the hell out of me, my husband has known andrew most of his life and i have known him for about 21 years…………i have posted on his facebook page in the hopes that one of his facebook friends may have some news, and have been posting the story on my facebook every day……….i and my friends have been praying for his safe return home

    Comment by michele | December 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. Geez, this is awful. Cyn, have there been any attempts to organize a search party? Do they need volunteers?

    Comment by Tru | December 22, 2010 | Reply

    • I know the police are looking for him and his friends have been spreading out all over the city (and and at the airport) looking for him, Tru, thank you for asking. Last I heard late this morning they’re still looking. It’s really sad.

      Comment by Cyn | December 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. My sister is a close family friend. She is heart broken as anyone is who hears this awfully sad story. A public search party is a good idear….a POINT IS CONFILCTING his hight Andrews picture on the internet reads he’s 5’2″this site says 5’6″. I beleive Andrew’s 5’6″ maybe someone could confirm this? Also Michele posted she saw this story on channel 5. im sorry i missed it.I HAVE BEEN WATCHING ALL LOCAL NEWS STATIONS TO CATCH ANY WORD, I HAVN’T SEEN ANYTHING YET. Times Important.i Hope the Networks Help. Thank You for this blog

    Comment by Lana | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  6. I am very sad by Andrew missing… story isn’t newsworthy.. that is a discrace! Some things.. go over and over on the news and something like this..not newsworthy? Missing man.. who just came out of rehabilitation… worked hard to recover.. after a medical condition like that… needs medical care… heart broken.. God Bless you Andy…

    Comment by michelle | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • The only two media outlets that I’ve seen cover this are the Lynn Item online and WCVB Channel 5. That is depressing. He’s been missing a week and still no word…

      Comment by Cyn | December 24, 2010 | Reply

  7. i have no family authority. except my sister and Marleen(Andrews mom) are 40plus years friends.Both too sad to speak.Andrew was found i beleive last thursday.
    (need to confirm date). he was very close to home.Andrew was a warm loving young man,he was a man of Virtue. i think he would also like me to say he loved to cook for his family He was an excellent cook.thank you for your efforts.——-look for notice in news paper tuesday.

    Comment by Lana | December 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. R.I.P. My friend.. Andrew contacted me last March, I am very glad he did, we worked together at Burger King.. Never really got to know Andy years ago, like the past 6 months, its different when your older. I wish we had more time with him.. But I will never forget the friendship we had before he went to heaven.. Thanks again Andy!

    Comment by Michelle | December 27, 2010 | Reply

  9. That’s really sad. I kept checking the web every day for updates since your original post. I hate to think that if more outlets had mentioned the story he could have been found.

    Comment by jere | December 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. R.I.P. Andrew

    Comment by Michelle | December 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

