Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

My annual trip to Squeeville

Taken back in January 2006

I get accused an awful lot of only liking certain players because they’re “cute”.  Every accusation of this is wrong except for two:  The first is Fred Lynn.  If he hadn’t been cute I would have  never started watching baseball as young as I did.  The second is, you guessed it, Bronson Arroyo.

I’ll never be able to fully explain it so I’ll just say this, there is just something about Bronson that turns me into a sixteen year-old girl whenever I get the chance to see him.  It’s funny because I don’t go out of my way to pay that much attention to him during the season.  I pay enough attention to know he’s doing well and, as long as it doesn’t conflict with a Red Sox game, I try to watch his starts when I can, but it isn’t until he’s actually in town that I start getting all girly about him.

Tonight is that night.  🙂

So today I might lose a few points in the respect column for those who get upset when women who blog about baseball talk about how attractive they find a player but that’s really too bad.  Tonight, with some friends, I get to be a giddy, excited girl again for a few hours thanks to Bronson’s appearance in Foxboro.  It might not be popular to admit something as silly as my crush on Bronson, but for me it’s nice to look forward to just letting go and being silly once a year.

I hope everyone enjoys their weekend as much as I plan on enjoying mine!

December 17, 2010 - Posted by | 2010 |

7 Comments »

  1. Right. Women who blog about / watch baseball shouldn’t ever even casually and non-gushingly admit to thinking a SINGLE ballplayer is attractive, because this automatically negates all actual serious knowledge they may have about the game.

    Because women are guilty of being ignorant about sports until proven innocent, at all times, no exceptions, and even once proven, acceptance can be revoked at any time. Such as when a woman happens to acknowledge that an athlete nicely fills out his uniform. smh

    Meanwhile, men who blog about ANYTHING are considered within their rights to ONLY mention…or only really even see…women who pass their personal standards of attractiveness. In fact, men are encouraged to, and do, decorate their sports blogs with endless shots of women wearing body paint and / or very little team-themed clothing in order to illustrate posts about, say, the BCS bowls.

    For that matter, these standards also apply to bloggers and journos themselves. Male sports bloggers / journalists can get away with looking like Quasi Modo, whether they’re on TV or not. Female sports bloggers / journalists who expect to make the big time should be of at least catalog-model attractiveness or higher, regardless of how often they are ever actually seen by their audience.

    But I guess I’m off on a tangent now, since the those women aren’t the actual athletes playing the sport, which is where this whole convo initially started. Because hahahahahaha, like WOMEN actually PLAY SPORTS. Pfft. At least, not any sports worth taking seriously, AMIRITE?

    No double standards going on here at all…nope. None I can see.

    Uh…anyway. I’ll get off my soapbox now and wish you a happy weekend!

    Comment by beth | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Well said, Beth.

    Comment by Kristen | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Go and have a great time. I won’t think less of you in the morning.

    Comment by Section 36 | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. Beth…

    Wow, just WOW!!

    Okay, so apparently it’s all about what you look like in order to do the sports gig, right?

    Helen Thomas, who covered far more important news in her day on television had a much different catalog; her brains.

    And I’ve never thought that Suzyn Waldman would be a woman to bring home. No not because the way she looks. Rather it is her inability to stop weeping at the mention of Roger Clemens name.

    Point? Not all men see it in the way you describe.

    Beazer, corner Arroyo and offer him a contract. Aside from that, have a ball!

    Comment by Tru | December 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. I hope you had a wonderful time! Every woman has a girl inside and to deny yourself that part of yourself would be wrong. Hope it was great!

    Comment by Kfish | December 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. and you know i always had a thing for mike lowell… 🙂

    http://snarkyferret.blogspot.com/2007/07/hot.html
    – see the example under #2 …

    Comment by BB | December 18, 2010 | Reply

    • BB I’m sitting here laughing my butt off! 🙂

      Comment by Cyn | December 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

