Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Jason Varitek Tributes

Screen grab from the NESN trailer

Screen grab from the NESN trailer

Beginning tomorrow night, NESN will be airing two specials on Jason Varitek and his career.

I’m not here to debate with people what kind of person he is off the field.  I know a lot of people will jump all over the rumors that surrounded him the last couple of seasons.  For the purposes of this discussion, I couldn’t care less about that stuff.  What these specials on NESN say to me is, there is more than a great chance we’ve seen the last of our Captain on the field and that just about rips my heart out.

I know he isn’t the player he used to be, but he’s ours and the idea that he won’t be in that clubhouse in 2011…well, it’s something I was hoping not to have to think about for a while.  Unfortunately, NESN will have none of my denial so tomorrow night at 7:30 the Red Sox Report will begin their two-part series on the Captain.  It’ll be tough to watch without getting emotional, but I’m looking forward to it.  It might be the only thing to look forward to on NESN until Red Sox baseball starts up again.

October 25, 2010 - Posted by | 2010 | ,

6 Comments »

  1. I posed the question on the SG FB group whether this tv thing was a video gold watch for Tek. My first thought when I heard about it was,”this is a sendoff/tribute for him.” He’s been my favorite for awhile so the end of his career is hard to deal with but all things have to end. I just hope he gets back from the organization some of what he contributed to the team. Thanks for the post,Cyn.

    Comment by Becky | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. I wonder if this is the first in a series of RS tributes. Saluting our current players BEFORE they leave? Will the Wake tribute be next?

    Comment by Beth | October 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. It doesn’t bode well for his future with the team,in my opinion.

    And I am TORN up about it.

    Comment by Alexis | October 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. You all have to remember this was produced a while ago. All the interviews were conducted probably over the summer. Since they had to interview a wide range of people. With people like Nomar being in it and other former players they probably took a while to get a date set for it. I know in the trailer they have a clip of the final game but thats easy to film and insert in. My point is that this was made as a tribute to him but not as a send off from Boston conveniently done as free agency and the off season start with in the next week or so. IMO this would have aired now even if he signed an extension during the season or even if we were in the playoffs.

    Another thing, could some one tell me when it will re-run? I wont be able to see it. I know next Tuesday the second part is on.

    Comment by Brian | October 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. Cleaning up a bunch of old stuff because I’m moving, and I just found the old tape I made of “The Pedro Martinez Story” off NESN circa 2000. So it doesn’t have to be a sendoff necessarily.

    When does it air? Hopefully the cable will be hooked up in the new place in time for me to see it!

    Comment by Kristen | October 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. In 1966 (yes I am that old) I became attached to one Tony C. HE was my first and best Red Sox Idol. It killed me watching all that happened to him knowing that he would have been one of the greateset hitters in Red Sox history. Took me a long time to get over it!

    I am SICK over Tek. If ever I felt a player deserved to finish his career in a Sox uniform…its Jason Varitek. I am truly hoping this is just the Red Sox giving him so long overdue recognition and not a send off. At the very least, I am glad for that.

    And, of course I know every player comes to the end eventually. In all truth however, I don’t where you could find a better backup catcher/leader/captain for your team. Let it play out. Tek will know when its time to go. I am just hopeful this isn’t it.

    Watching him in another uniform will be just as painful for me as it was watching Tony. At least TEK has had a great career and for that I’m thankful. I’m not the impressionable, naive teenager that I was in my Tony days….but I am as big a TEK fan as I was Tony C.

    I’ll be watching tonight…and waiting hopefully for good news from Theo…

    Comment by Dori | October 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

