Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Love Coaster

The first thing I read online today was a tweet from a pal on Twitter:

So I look @ the AL East standings this morning & think, “The #RedSox still have a chance.” Eternal optimist, or completely delusional?

Normally, this person is a lot more rational than I am and lives in a more realistic world than mine, so what he wrote took me a bit by surprise.  See, I had the almost exact thought early this morning and before I read his tweet I wasn’t going to dare write about it.

But, what the heck, we’re all friends here, right?

See, this is why I love baseball and why I especially love the Red Sox.  Sure the chances of their making it to the playoffs are slimmer than slim but they make it so damn exciting.  They make rational people think “Holy cow maybe there IS a chance?” by fielding a team made up of a heckuva lot of  rookies who beat the tar out of the team currently right ahead of them in the standings.

Everything could change tonight.  They could lose and folks will be back on the “Let’s just watch the rest of the season play out and wait for next year” bandwagon.  Or they could win again and even more of those rational folks who gave up on the season might join us on Twitter wondering if the impossible is, in fact, possible.

I don’t know about you all, but I’m enjoying the hell out of this.

September 7, 2010 - Posted by | 2010 | ,

5 Comments »

  1. I still have that little, teeny, tiny glimmer of hope in my heart that the Sox can pull out a miracle and play in the post season. Hope springs eternal when it comes to my Red Sox.
    I was a bit disappointed this morning to see the White Sox ahead of the Red Sox for the wild card spot.
    It’s an uphill battle, that’s for sure!

    Comment by Brenken | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. Last night was the most incredible fun. Guys whose name I hardly recognized stepped up and won resoundingly. Lester racked up ten strikeouts. Tito played the “C” team, or almost, and beat the Rays who, incidentally, are going to be loaded for bear tonight. But what a game to watch again in the winter.

    Comment by Anita | September 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. I have no faith at this point. None. 9 games down and they’re playing lights out? Winning 8-9 games every 10? Shit, sign me up. I know I’m posting this the morning after a loss, but I felt the same way after the win the night before.

    The way this team is playing, they might drop to 4th in the east. They’ve gone 3-7 last 10. If they go 6-14 rest of the way, I see the Jays catching them. I’m not saying they’re given up or they’re dogging it. I’m just saying… Our starting pitching sucks right now.

    I love Baseball and I love the Sox. But I’m very, very angry at them right now.

    Comment by Brain | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. how can anyone possibly be angry with this team? They have played above and beyond all expectations this year. Being angry with this team equates to getting mad at a 5 week old puppy for pissing on the floor.

    and besides – it ain’t ovah yet.

    Comment by BB | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. I ran into a fellow Red Sox fan at work here in NJ earlier this week. He laughed when I said, “The Big Tease – we’re 6 behind the Yankees with 6 games against them.”

    As the author of the tweet that sparked this thread, I would counter that my rationality, when it comes to the Red Sox, is many times questionable. But as long as there’s still a chance….

    Comment by Jim Monaghan | September 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

