Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Keep it going

He's played hard since he's been here.  That folks think he's happy NOT playing boggles my mind.  (Photo by Kelly O'Connor @ sittingstill.smugmug.com and used with permission)

He's played hard since he's been here. That folks think he's happy NOT playing boggles my mind. (Photo by Kelly O'Connor @ sittingstill.smugmug.com and used with permission)

I began to write a long entry ranting about Jacoby Ellsbury and how absolutely God-awful the local media and many Red Sox fans have treated him when I decided that I had enough writing about the negative for a little while.  So all I’ll say is this:  Kid broke some ribs and for people to act like he should have just bounced back is short-sighted and, well, ridiculous.  Thanks to the likes of Peter Abraham, the words “he’s soft” will now follow Jacoby around for his career in the same way Tony LaRussa’s criticisms of JD Drew have followed him.  Congratulations to the Boston sports media for doing their best in tearing down yet another athlete.

I choose to focus on the happiness of watching Ryan Kalish hit a grand slam or Victor Martinez trying to rub Adrian Beltre’s head.  These are some of the things that keep me coming back night after night.  Our closer, the one folks want to run out of town, became the first closer in MLB history to record 30 saves in his first five seasons.  When Papelbon pitches like he did last night, that’s a hell of a lot of fun to watch too.

The road is still long (and rough) but there is a lot more baseball to be played before the lights at Fenway get shut off for the year.  As the poet Kevin Garnett once said, “Anything is possible!”.

August 19, 2010 - Posted by | 2010 | ,

3 Comments »

  1. The unfounded criticism bothers the hell out of me. Yes, Jacoby has been hurt. That’s that in my book. Let him heal, the guys filling in for him have been doing a heck of a job.

    The Drew criticisms have really bothered me this year as well. He is, without question, one of the team’s most consistant and best defensive players. He has also been more than pulling his share at the plate. What more do people want?

    Comment by Alexis | August 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. I have a problem with Ellsbury being on the DL. But not because I think he’s trying to steal the nickname ‘glass’.

    I have two problems with him being on the DL:

    1. He’s not playing and able to help the club
    2. I wonder about the evaluation methods and criteria that cleared him

    The first no one can do anything about. The second is very concerning to me.

    Is there some weird Karmic relationship to the merry-go-round of injuries and re-injured? Just when one guy gets back, it seems as though he turns around and crawls back into sickbay.

    I understand that injuries are a sad and tough fact of the game. But I’m really wondering about the Sox medical staff and their ability to truly understand where the player is physically at. I also wonder about the Red Sox too, and question if they’ve lowered or ever had a standard that clears players to play.

    Asking the player if they can go should come with a sharp eye of suspicion.

    Pedroia would most likely play with broken legs and fingers if they asked him if he felt well enough to start. Hell, I think most of the guys would say that. They want in the game and to be sidelined with an injury seems to make them cranky. What was it Francona called Pedroia? Oh yeah, a pain in the ass.

    Maybe I’m frustrated. It seems the club did so well in battling through and hanging tough. Of late, though, the team seems to be treading water, while we watch them head back to the DL.

    I’d like to think that the Red Sox give a damn about their players and would never make a decision to clear a player who was marginal. I shudder to think that their physicians might be lowering their standard of practice allowing the player to risk further injury by clearing them and hope it’s not the case.

    But I’d be less than honest if I didn’t say these thoughts have crossed my mind.

    PS: Ellsbury’s not soft.

    Comment by Tru | August 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I think the reason I’m not so quick to judge the medical staff is most of this year’s injuries came from circumstances while playing but not because the players weren’t in good shape. With Ellsbury, especially, I think it is almost impossible for anyone except the person with that specific injury to tell you he’s ready to come back and play. If Pedroia could have, he’d have played with that boot on his foot but that doesn’t mean it was the right decision. With Ellsbury, he rebroke the already injured rib. In both cases I absolutely believe outside pressures (especially from the media and probably fans) made the team and the players want to come back sooner. When you have beat writers calling you soft I’d imagine you’d want to show them you weren’t and the team has no way to gauge whether someone has totally healed from the kind of injury Ells has – it’s all on him. Even Pedroia’s injury is considered medically healed.

      I balk at blaming the staff and blame the circumstances.

      Comment by Cyn | August 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

