Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Behold the flowing flagon moist and sweet

BoSox and Bruins on the Screen Monsters at Jerry Remy's (taken with the phone so forgive the poor quality!)

BoSox and Bruins on the Screen Monsters at Jerry Remy's (taken with the phone so forgive the poor quality!). Can you see Wally in his Adirondack chair?

Got to watch the Sox/Rays game Monday night at Jerry Remy’s Sports Bar and Grill.  I’ll be honest, I went in expecting to be disappointed and I was only disappointed in that I wasn’t disappointed at all.

Okay, that’s not entirely true.  Let’s get the one major disappointment out of the way:  the ladies’ room and its lack of televisions.

Now maybe for some this wouldn’t be a big deal.  I don’t usually walk into every public ladies’ room expecting there to be televisions but the Cask ‘n’ Flagon has me spoiled.  So when a new sports bar opens I have to figure (or hope) there will be a tv in the bathroom.  At Remy’s there isn’t.  Wouldn’t be a big deal at all except that the waitress told me not only is there a television in the men’s room…there are three.  She went on to tell us that the men’s room is actually smaller than the ladies’ room (she also informed us that we weren’t the only people to question the lack of televisions in the ladies’ room).   So it’s smaller but it has three televisions (and, really, who spends more time in the bathroom, men or women?  Thank you).  My one regret for the night is that I didn’t sneak into the men’s room just to see.  I’m kicking myself for not doing it (hey there were only about 20 people in there all night so I could have done it without getting caught!).

So for their treating men like sports fans and women like people who are just there to be with their men…Remy’s gets a failing grade.  Get with the program, Rem Dawg and start acting like the women fans count.  It’s not too late to slap a television in there.

The rest of the night, admittedly, rated much higher than an “F”.  The hostess, servers and security people were all friendly, attentive and happy to answer any question we had (and we had a lot).

When we got there the first thing we did was ask if they could put the Sox Spring Training game on at least one of the two big televisions they have (they call them the “Screen Monsters”) over the bar.  The waitress assured us that, when the time came, they’d certainly put NESN on (although I found it amusing that she didn’t know a game was on – I really figured that any time “the boss” was on television he’d be on at least one of the televisions at his own place).  When the time did come, it took them a while to figure out how to change the channel (I’m not making that up) but after a few batters, they finally figured it out.  Of the two large televisions, one showed the Sox game and the other the Bruins game (and they played the sound for the Bruins game – which we approved of since it gave us hope that they’ll do the same for the Sox games in-season).

Since we planned on being there for the entire game we decided to take it slow with the food ordering.  We decided to start with the nachos (which we ended up special ordering because we’re picky and even with the special order, it was served timely and hot).  The nachos are amazing.  Very cheesy and filling but a bit deceiving.  The presentation (and I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture of this!) is such that it looks a little smaller than it actually is.  We spent so much time nibbling on the nachos that we “forgot” that we didn’t order anything to eat for dinner.   We ended up ordering desserts instead of a main course which was only disappointing because we both wanted to try Remy’s burgers.  All the food we did eat was really fresh, presented well and served in a rather timely manner.  I look forward to going back and eating “real” food there soon.

We were told that once the season begins you won’t be able to make reservations before or after the games but if you want to make reservations to go there to watch the game they’ll accept them.  This might come in handy on those nights I’d like to hit Fenway but don’t have tickets.

The beer and wine lists are lengthy and, pretty much, all-encompassing.  For the most part, I stuck with my old standby (Bud Light – I’m a wild woman, I know) but I did try a “Remy’s Red Ale” which tastes like most other red ales.  I enjoyed it but it wasn’t anything special.  I also tried their specialty drink “The No. 2” (which is Old Monk Dark Rum, Bacardi, Orange Curacao, Orange Juice, Lime Juice, Orgeat and Grenadine) which, given my fondness for Cosmos and Mai Tais, I have to admit I enjoyed immensely.  I would have liked it to be a bit more chilled but all in all I ended up having more than one so I didn’t miss the chill that much!

I’d like to go back when it’s much busier (to gauge the workers.  It’s easy to be helpful and approachable when there aren’t that many people around.  I’d like to see them in action mid-season) and I look forward to tasting some of the dishes that aren’t appetizers or desserts.  But for what we were looking for Monday night, Remy’s definitely delivered.  The televisions are as great as advertised and each is sitting at a level where there isn’t a spot in the restaurant where you couldn’t see one.  So I’m anticipating it to be a great place to watch the game.

I don’t think you’ll be disappointed in much if you go to Remy’s (as long as you aren’t a woman looking to keep watching the game during your bathroom break.  I promise you, this one I won’t let up on until there is at least one tv in that ladies’ room!).

Wally on the bar in his Adirondack chair

Wally on the bar in his Adirondack chair

March 30, 2010 - Posted by | 2010 | ,

5 Comments »

  1. I think I really want to go there at least once. Great review

    Comment by Noni | March 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great Review and if I would have been there with you, we would have gone IN the mens room. And not gotten caught 🙂
    Come ON REMY….TV in the Ladies Room!!!

    Comment by Tex19 | March 31, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m pretty loyal to the Cask, but I’ll try Remy’s place for sure, hopefully with my older son early in the season, before he moves away (copious weeping). Luckily, I have a back up, as my younger son turns 21 in April. And, my SG friends, of course :-). Jerry should give you free food all season, for this nice review.

    Comment by Dewey | March 31, 2010 | Reply

  4. Sounds like a great place, definitely on my list next time I’m in Boston (whenever that might be!)

    I wonder what it’ll be like on a game day. The Cask was heaving when I was there with Josh a couple of years ago.

    Comment by HorshamScouse | April 1, 2010 | Reply

  5. Great review ~ thank you!
    I think we will plan a stop there sometime this season.

    🙂

    Comment by KrisinF | April 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

