Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

How can I feel good when nothing's right?

061408_7683

This is going to make a great story when the Red Sox win the World Series, right?

Man oh man.  I joked during the chat last night that it would be twisted but funny if the Red Sox didn’t win another game in the regular season and the Rangers won one more.  I’m not so sure the Rangers will think it’s as funny as I do, though.  (The Rangers, incidentally, lost again last night.)

Well, at least the Sox made history last night when Dusty Brown became the first Red Sox catcher to pitch in a game.  It’s been a long, strange season.

I actually watched the post-game show on NESN last night.  Something I don’t usually do if the team loses.  I guess I’m just in a better mood since they’re in the playoffs so I got to see Dennis Eckersley seem genuinely pissed that Wakefield was in there while Tom Caron defended the decision.  I’m on the side of TC here – we needed to see what Wake could or couldn’t do on the field in order to deal with the playoff roster.  As much as I’m looking forward to the playoffs, I’m not looking forward to who will be left off that roster.  (Only real light moment of the night was when a reporter called Tito “Theo” as she asked her question and he sternly pointed out that he was “Tito”.  Sadly, that reporter wasn’t Heidi Watney.)

I’ll be at the game tonight.  The way things are going I’m probably going to see Jason Varitek playing left field.  Should be an interesting night.  It’ll be nice to see Justin Masterson  (who pitched a complete game last night but still lost 1-0 in Cleveland) at least.

Elsewhere in MLB, Bronson Arroyo got his 15th (and final) win of the season last night.  After struggling with carpal tunnel he got a cortisone shot and  pitched damn fine in the second half this year – which means either the Reds will want to keep him around or he just made himself attractive trade bait.  Incidentally, John Smoltz was Bronson’s opposing pitcher and he only went four innings.  Warms the cockles.

I’ll be at two (tonight and Sunday) of the last four games of the regular season.  I don’t want to sound greedy, but at least one win would be nice, fellas!

October 1, 2009 - Posted by | 2009 | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. It’s wrong, I know, but I was happy to hear that Cincy had trounced Smoltz!

    Comment by Beth | October 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh for God’s sake….get off Watney’s jock already.

    Since we can’t mention Heidi without also mentioning EA….she sure looked like she uglied herself up last weekend working the sidelines of the ND-MSU game.

    Comment by Seamus | October 1, 2009 | Reply

    • Who is this ‘we’ you speak of? And I really don’t see why it matters what EA looks like on the sidelines anyway. As long as she’s doing what she’s supposed to be dong and knows what the hell she’d doing, that’s all I ask.

      The season is almost over and I’ll be done having to watch Miss Watney. But there are still two games that I’ll be catching on NESN so fair warning now. 🙂 (And as long as she’s employed by NESN, I’m pretty sure she’ll give me reasons to write.)

      Comment by Cyn | October 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. If Jason plays left field, we he still do his stretching exercises for the ladies? 😉

    I was at the bar watching the game with fellow Sox fans…and caught Arroyo’s game. Saw he got a hit as well and I think a rbi? Anyway…glad to see he got a W off of Smoltzy…(sorry Smoltz)

    I’ll miss Wake.

    Comment by Tex | October 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. Painful watching Wake stagger after a bunt. Back surgery NOW, Tim. NOW. You are the ultimate team player, but you need to do your work from the bench from here on out. We want you back, healthy and strong, for 2010.

    Comment by Elaine Apthorp | October 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. Heh, heh – Cyn said dong. Love your typos in response to Seamus.

    Comment by Sharpie T. Silverwater | October 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

