Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

This is what is going to separate us from them.

Paws is about to begin his fall/winter vacation.  Photo courtesy of Kelly O'Connor/sittingstill.net and used with permission.

Paws is about to begin his fall/winter vacation. Photo courtesy of Kelly O'Connor/sittingstill.net and used with permission.

So I decided to enjoy the day instead of locking myself up in a hotel room and I missed the majority of the game.  Game stories tell me Wake struggled early and then settled down and that Gavin Floyd was perfect through five (The Baseball Project thanks you, Nick Green!).   Not really much you can do with this game but keep it in the rear-view mirror.

Crabcakes is on the mound Sunday afternoon and then Josh Beckett pitches on Labor Day afternoon, so the team still has a good chance at leaving Chicago with a split for this series.  I’ll be good with that.  Let’s hope Crabby and Beckett cooperate.

Tonight was the final home game for the PawSox.  I had planned to go but like so many of my McCoy plans this year, that ended up not happening.  I went north, not south, this weekend.  KellyO made it down for the last game and the PawSox didn’t disappoint, beating the Syracuse Chiefs 8-2.  The PawSox have three more games in Syracuse and their season is over Tuesday night.  It’s a sad reminder that fall is coming quickly and with it no more baseball.  I enjoy Triple A and MLB on different levels and given how much exposure the MLB teams have, even in the off-season, I miss the Triple-A team just a little bit more when they aren’t playing.  With any luck, the BoSox are going to give us baseball throughout October but for now I’ll wallow in a little sadness over the Triple-A season ending this week.

My math could be off but I believe Sunday afternoon at Lehigh Valley will be Kyle Snyder’s last start of his season (I think it should be Sunday but it could be for the last game on Monday).  He has done an awful lot for the Bisons, regardless of the struggles of the team as a whole, and I hope that it translates into a call-up after their season ends.   He’s earned it.

A reminder that both Sunday’s and Monday’s games are at 2:05pm EST.  The chances are good that I might, once again,  miss the majority of Sunday’s game but I’ll definitely be in a place to watch all of Monday’s.  Small steps, right?

September 5, 2009 - Posted by | 2009 | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the update on Kyle Snyder. I always liked his style and delivery, and wondered why he was not consistent with the Sox. Hope he gets the call. Perhaps now that the season is ending, Theo and Tito will finally call up Jones, Cabrera, maybe Vaquedano to prevent having to pitch guys like Oki, MDC, RRami for multiple innings, which they don’t do well. My theory is that Jones or Cabrera can pitch that second inning better, and that in September’s roster there is NO reason not to bring them up and use them to spare the Pen for October.

    Comment by Gerry | September 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. Gerry, the problem for the Sox is that the 40-man is full, assuming they need to hold a spot for Matsuzaka. Admittedly, I wouldn’t be surprised if they move Lowrie to the 60-day DL and just call an end to his year. Hunter’s on the 40-man, but he’s struggled of late. Neither Cabrera (who went through waivers) nor Vaquedano is on there. I’d love to see Cabrera again if they do move Lowrie.

    Comment by KellyO | September 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey Cyn,

    Yanks are gonna be 9 games up after this game. You conceding the division yet?

    YANKEES! 2009 WORLD SERIES CHAMPS

    Lou-

    PS – Nice Swisher jersey…If you like steak sandwiches, check out the Lobel’s in left field when your at the stadium. A little pricey but the best of the stadium fare in my opinion.

    Comment by Lou | September 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

