Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

He'll be here in a litte while

Bring us a win, Wake!  Photo courtesy of Kelly O'Connor/sittingstill.net and used with permission.

Bring us a win, Wake! Photo courtesy of Kelly O'Connor/sittingstill.net and used with permission.

Ass kickings I don’t get to witness hurt much less than the ones I watch so I’m not all that upset this morning since I only watched a bit of the game.  Paul Byrd and Junichi Tazawa stunk (given his age and experience, I give Tazawa much more leeway in the ‘stinking’ department) and the White Sox pitching didn’t.  That’s pretty much all there is to say about that.

My mistake in the post from yesterday – I had forgotten about the whole “Wake is probably starting on Saturday” thing and used redsox.com’s probables when writing about the upcoming pitching.  So today, a day after a 20-hit, 12-run drubbing, we get Wake on the mound against Gavin Floyd.  There’s a 50/50 chance I’ll get to watch the game today and I’m not too troubled by that.  Knowing  the Fox broadcasters will go on about last night’s game is enough to make me happy if I miss it.  I’d like to believe that the Sox wouldn’t be throwing Wake out there if he wasn’t well enough to pitch…but given some of the moves they’ve made lately I’m not convinced of that.

So I send positive vibes Wake’s way not only for the win but because I genuinely want him to be and pitch well and hope the Red Sox bats and pitching both come together for the nationally televised game.

Relaxing isn’t something I’m able to do all that much but being away from everything yesterday was grand.  I’m in a beautiful location and have another day to enjoy some fresh air and sunshine without focusing on anything too intense.  Hope everyone else has an equally beautiful day!

September 5, 2009 - Posted by | 2009 | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Today’s the day! Can’t wait to see how Timmy does today against the White Sox. Also surprising to see how well Byrd has done. Tazawa is going to make me have a heart attack.

    The question looms as to how our rotation is going to look in October:
    Beckett
    Lester
    Buccholz
    Wakefield
    Byrd

    or are we going to use the six man rotation and give rests if Dice-K can get his crap together?

    Comment by Josh G | September 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. I missed the first five innings due to work, but it seems as if Wake wasn’t that bad. Just Floyd was better. Take tomorrow and the Rangers can manage to lose and it’s back to 3 games.

    My God, do I wish for a 10 game cushion right about now.

    Comment by Ted | September 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

