Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

When I look down I just miss all the good stuff

One of the more entertaining pictures I took on Saturday.  Mr. Bay was none too pleased with the ass tap from Mr. Swisher.  More photos from Saturday are at the Toeing the Rubber page on Facebook.

One of the more entertaining pictures I took on Saturday. Mr. Bay seemed none too pleased with the friendly ass tap from Mr. Swisher. More photos from Saturday are at the Toeing the Rubber Facebook page (linked on the left sidebar).

It both amuses and impresses me that Jason Bay, who has only been here a little over a year, is one of the more reasonable person around in regard to what is going on with the Red Sox:

“I think what goes unnoticed around here is we’re in first place for the other playoff spot,” Bay said. “We won the wild card last year and made Game 7 of the ALCS.”

While the media (and resident Yankees fan Lou) has given the World Championship to the Yankees, one of the newbies, a guy from a team that hasn’t sniffed the playoffs in quite some time, realizes that those awards aren’t given out until October.

Did it stink, watching Beckett struggle last night?  Hell, yeah.  Watching my ace give up five home runs isn’t quite what I’d call fun.  But am I worried (as some posted around the Internet last night) that he’s “done”?  Jesus, people, do we have to follow the media’s lead and only have two speeds?  I can’t go from extreme optimist to extreme pessimist as quickly as some folks.  I understand it was two bad outings in a row for Beckett but, frankly, shit happens.  I choose to stay in the middle and enjoy the freaking season while we have it.  The Sox still lead the wild card and while it’s unlikely the Yanks will tank so badly they’ll lose the division lead, anything is still possible.  I hold out hope until the math says otherwise.  That’s just how I roll.

I think it’s fair to say, though, that any Red Sox fan who willfully chooses to listen to Joe Morgan, Jon Miller and Steve Phillips call a Red Sox game (especially a Red Sox/Yankees game) is a glutton for punishment and gets what they deserve.  (I count myself in this group.  Last time the Sox were on ESPN I muted the game and listened to Joe Castiglione and Dave O’Brien.  Don’t know why I didn’t do this last night but I deeply regret it.)

The Sox and their fans have no time to wallow.  Tonight starts a four-game series against the White Sox with Buchholz (3.99) and Contreras 5.13) on the mound.  The rest of the series gives us Lester (3.58), Wakefield (4.31) and Tazawa (3.57) against Garcia (10.38), Floyd (3.98) and Danks (3.85).  This past weekend proved that pitching match-ups don’t always tell the story of what will happen…but I sure do like the chances of the Red Sox this week.

August 24, 2009 - Posted by | 2009 | , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I’m hoping to get some photos up on Flickr at some point for the folks not on Facebook…just not sure when that will happen right now.

    Comment by Cyn | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Cyn, I’ve read about the games we’ve won this year and pretty much boycott the media after we lose. Especially Yankee games. Would I love for them to win the AL EAST? You bet. But just get there and it’s a whole new season.

    Seems like we did something pretty special as the Wild Card back in 2004 for some reason.

    Comment by Ted | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m in the same boat as you Cyn. Honestly, I’m starting to get more and more upset everytime someone says that we should get ready for the wild card race. There are still 39 games left in the season, we are awesome in September and the Yankees still have plenty of time to take an 8 game losing streak dive before the post season.

    I’m not saying that we need to win the division, because the playoffs are the same whether your first our fourth to start, but I’m just saddened by the amount of people that are already giving up hope and throwing in the towel on the pennant.

    Comment by Josh G | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. Well said,Cyn!

    Comment by fla beck | August 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. I got into it yesterday with three different people that made comments that the Red Sox are stinking it up and the season is over. They were making the most ridiculous comments. It didn’t take long at all to realize they really didn’t know their baseball.

    Comment by Cruiser | August 25, 2009 | Reply

  6. Friday night I was near the NY border, in a bar/restaurant with my two sisters. I wore my 2004 Championship cap. The game was horrible, and not just the outcome, but both sides looked like bad news bears.

    Not all Yankee fans are idiots, though. I wound up yip-yapping with a bunch of them, including the owner of the place, and they were funny, informed, and not as cocky as what you see posted on forums. They know the recent history, and realize the club they have now is worlds apart from the late 90’s.

    As for the Miller, Morgan and Ex-GM at the mic on Sunday, I was truly amused to hear Miller say “3 up, 3 down”, when there was a man standing (base hit), on first when the inning came to an end. A guy could learn a lot listening to these people.

    Last night against the Chi-Sox reminded me of how much these guys want to win… GRINDING to a win, even when the starting pitching wasn’t so hot.

    Just sayin

    Comment by Tru | August 25, 2009 | Reply

  7. No lie listening to those morons call a game is like fingernails on a chalkboard….i think if they counted the home runs one more time as they called the last couple of innings i would have chucked a shoe at the tv even if it broke….

    Comment by DORI | August 25, 2009 | Reply

  8. . . . AND the Sox pulled off another win last night; freaky crap in the infield (popup behind the mound, throwback to pitcher ending up in CF, ball popping out of Mikey’s glove) did not fatally deter the team–they just kept grinding and put that thang away. Taking 2 in a row from Chicago is very helpful, and they’ve just picked up Billy Wagner to plug a second legit late-inning lefty into the pen for the stretch drive. Call me a cockeyed optimist, but these things cheer me greatly.

    Today I’m doing my Baseball Buddha rituals in honor of dearly beloved Zen warrior Tim Wakefield, who hobbles gamely to the mound for us tonight fresh off the DL. I wish him a confirmed return to good health, and may the knuckler dance regularly into brave knuckleball-rookie Victor Martinez’ mitt and a sufficient number of batters troop haplessly back to the visitors’ dugout, dragging their tails behind them. Lots of great big ifs here, so let’s pile on the positive vibes, everybody. Go Wake! Go Sox!

    Comment by Elaine Apthorp | August 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

