Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

The people demand to have a say

Artsy version of a favorite picture of mine that I took in 2006

Artsy version of a favorite picture of mine that I took in 2006

If I learned anything from last night’s game and live blog chat it’s that the fans who I tend to surround myself with (whether my friends or fans of this blog) are made of better stuff than the bandwagoners and the sports writers.  (Thanks to all of you who stopped by and made last night much more bearable than it would have been had we not done the live chat!)

There is no way – absolutely no way – to spin anything positive about a 20-11 loss.  Sure the team came back and scored 11 runs (actually, that is a positive…the Yankees hammered away last  night but the Sox didn’t give up, not even in the ninth inning) but the loss was still tough.  But the comments last night and emails I’ve received since seem to reflect similar attitudes.  No one is  happy with Brad Penny.  Most feel sorry for Michael Bowden getting thrown into that situation and just about everyone thinks that a team giving up all those hits and runs is more fluky than anything else.  The Yankees are a good team, no doubt, but so are the Red Sox.  Of course, Nick Cafardo writes that last night shows that the Yankees are a championship -caliber team.  Now, they very well might be but I don’t think a 20-11 blowout is an indication of that.  Games like this, in my mind, are an aberration.  The Yankees exploited the suckitude of Brad Penny but the Red Sox also got 11 runs on 12 hits.  There was some bad pitching going on with the Yankees as well, the Red Sox just took longer to capitalize on it.  So you’ll pardon me if I don’t look at a game like last night’s and automatically crown the Yankees the World Champions of 2009.

Today’s game is on Fox so it doesn’t start until 4:10pm EST.  Since I’ll be at Fenway I will, thankfully, be spared the ramblings of the ballwashing McCarver and Buck but I’ll still be in the middle of drunken Sox and Yankees fans so it’s a bit of a wash.  I don’t usually go to a game thinking “PLEASE let them win” it’s always usually “I HOPE they win” but today I’m going to ask the baseball gods to please let them win.  I’m not sure I can deal with Yankee fan jerkiness or the fights started by drunken and annoyed Red Sox fans if they don’t.

Junichi Tazawa doesn’t automatically instill a sense of calm when pitted against A.J. Burnett and the Yankees but I’m still going into this game hopeful.  Why not?  I’m a baseball fan.  I’m a Red Sox fan.  Today I get to sit in the park and enjoy a baseball game.  There’s no reason to feel down about that.

August 22, 2009 - Posted by | 2009 | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Welcome to Night 2 of Boston Massacre Boston Edition 2009. The over under on runs allowed for the Sox and Tazawa today is 15.

    FORGET ABOUT THE DIVISION – IT’S OVER!

    The Yankees are on their way to a 27th world championship. How sweet it is!

    Comment by Lou | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. The only part I agree with is that Buck and McCarver are nimrods

    Comment by Lou | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Yankees are 26-8 since the all star break

    Comment by Lou | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. Lou sure likes talking to himself.

    Comment by Dewey | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  5. I also feel sickly bad for Bowden, especially since he got sent back down to Pawtucket afterward. I agree that I’m praying for a win tonight, but I don’t think it’s a must win game yet. My hopes for Tazawa are high, but I’m still a bit scared of what could happen to a 2-1 curve to A-Rod. I’ll be following the game from work on the ESPN box score as usual, you have fun being there.

    Comment by Josh G | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  6. LOL! — well noted, Dewey 🙂

    Shout out of thanks, again, to Cyn for your wonderful blog and your hospitality in the online game chats. I had a great time hanging out with you all in the chat last night–it was a sweet welcome home after two weeks on a mountain in Oregon cut off from all things Sox, to do the game with a roomful of people who know and love this ballclub, year in and year out, all season long, rooting with intelligence, passion, and humor from the first stretch of February to the last pitch of the last contest. Here’s wishing Cyn and Kelly0 and all their grand good comrades a happy day at the Fens, with RP Thunderstix at the ready. Go Sox!

    Comment by Elaine Apthorp | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  7. I bet Lou isn’t laughing now…

    Cyn, as always, thanks for the blog last night. I couldn’t hang around as long as I would have liked to but it’s always a pleasure to enjoy a game with those who “attend”. The company made it far easier to endure last night’s game. I’m glad they redeemed themselves yet again today, and that you could be there to see it. We’re not going away anytime soon! The Yankees haven’t won anything yet.

    Comment by Kfish | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  8. Poor Lou. He never saw it coming.
    Last night’s game was horrible to watch but I felt like the Sox were fighting till the very end saying “We WILL NOT GO QUIETLY INTO THE NIGHT!!”

    Today was all about Redemption for us. And it makes it sweeter to know that Cyn was there watching!

    Comment by Tex19 | August 22, 2009 | Reply

  9. Yea, poor Lou keep saying that–look at the STANDINGS…you’re back to square one–6.5 back–the same as when the series started. The only problem is that you are running out of head to head games against us. Forget the division–ain’t happening.

    YANKS 2009 WORLD CHAMPIONS

    Comment by Lou | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  10. “Forget the division–ain’t happening.”

    LOL, maybe, maybe not-but it didn’t happen in 2004, either, and we know how well THAT year turned out for the AL division leaders, don’t we?

    I love pulling out that checkmate…

    Comment by Lisa K. | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  11. Lou, do you even REMEMBER when the Skankees won a playoff series? I’m having trouble recalling that myself.

    😀

    Comment by becks | August 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

