Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

No such love would come my way

So here is all I will write about the Sox totally collapsing on this road trip after sweeping the Orioles after the trade deadline:

Please don’t expect me to jump off the bandwagon.  I’m in for the long haul and that includes gut-punches like this past weekend.  Aside from the good/great pitching of Beckett, Buchholz and Lester there is nothing good to say about this weekend.  That doesn’t mean I’m giving up – not at all.  And the “I hate the Red Sox” “I’m done with them” and “They suck and aren’t going anywhere” crowds can go sit on tacks.  Please leave the bandwagon now so I can buy more than one ticket at a time through RedSox.com next season…that would be great.

There’s no way to sugarcoat a six-game losing streak – especially when it puts the Sox 6.5 games out of first and ties them for the Wild Card spot.  But it’s August 10th.  On August 9th, in 2004, the Sox were 10.5 games out of first place.  Now, I’m not comparing these teams player by player but in 2004 on this day we had absolutely no hope that the Sox were going to make the playoffs let alone win the World Series.

So if folks are expecting me to join them in the pity party they’re barking up the wrong tree.  Another series starts Monday in Fenway and I’ll be sitting in front of NESN watching every moment of it.

It’s easy to root for the winning team.  Now is the time that we get tested.  So suck it up, people.  The team needs our support now more than ever.

August 9, 2009 - Posted by | 2009 | ,

12 Comments »

  1. Cyn,

    I’ve been reading you for some time, but not quite as long as the 36 years that I’ve been an exile in central NJ living behind the Yankee wall in the Bronx. 2004 can happen again, and will. I admire your attitude – a real Sox fan. Let’s hope you converted a few more.

    Comment by Don Smith | August 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. I heard you.

    And it ain’t over until it’s over.

    Comment by Ted | August 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. During last night’s festival of gloom it occurred to me that Joe Morgan isn’t any worse than listening to Dave Roberts. The difference being that Morgan sounds like he’s on Quaaludes, whereas Roberts sounds like Stuart Smalley on amphetamines. I guess I’d still rather listen to Roberts because at least he’s on our side.

    Comment by maxwell horse | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. Word. Speak it Sistah!!

    Comment by Tex19 | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. Comparing “games back”, 5 years apart means pretty much nothing unless your point is that miracles can happen. I lived in Atlanta the year they went from “worst to first”. That happens slightly more often than coming back from 0-3 in the LCS…but I don’t think too many Braves fans have referenced 1991 during the past few poor seasons.

    Lets face it….We feasted on a cellar dweller and got our asses handed to us by our main competition in the division. And we’ve not played very well outside of the division vs teams like LA, Texas, Seattle and even the lowly A’s. Why would that inspire confidence in any fan or suggest that this season isn’t off-track?

    If people want to piss and moan about where they think the season is headed, so what? It’s hard to argue against them right now. Putting on a happy face is nothing more than refusing to recognize and accept that the season has been going downhill, steadily. Sure things can be turned around…but right now it’s not looking good.

    Comment by Seamus | August 10, 2009 | Reply

    • //. Putting on a happy face is nothing more than refusing to recognize and accept that the season has been going downhill, steadily. Sure things can be turned around…but right now it’s not looking good.//

      You totally misunderstand me. I’m not “putting on a happy face”. I have total confidence that this team can come back from a losing streak and 6.5 game deficit. And referencing 2004 makes sense to me. Everyone was convinced that season was lost in August and it wasn’t. No season is lost in August. If people want to be miserable about the team they can – I find it ridiculous to be convinced the season is over just because of a losing streak.

      Comment by Cyn | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. This fat lady is not singing…and will not sing. I will be at the game on the last day of the season on October 1st fulling expecting to see my team in the playoffs that following week.
    And, that’s the truth….(picture me sticking out my tongue at Yankee fans).

    Comment by Dori | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  7. After watching the Sox lose the last six games, falling 6.5 out for the AL East lead, I woke up this morning, amazingly, to discover I’m still a Boston Red Sox fan.

    Jeez, who’d a thunk it?

    Comment by Tru | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  8. It makes all the sense in the world to me that the Sox, while dealing with Papi’s media circus, DL injuries to Wakefield, Kottaras, Baldelli and Lowrie, non-DL injuries to Drew, Bay and Varitek, and a generally unsettled roster from trading Masterson for V-Mart and then taking the “if it’s Saturday, it must be Enrique” tour of the AAA bullpen options, would struggle facing two excellent teams in the AL East. The Rays are hitting their stride; not surprised we lost two to them at their home. The Yankees are playing terrific baseball right now–they won all four, but swap out a few key hits and the Sox take one or two. I think the team has some problems–but I certainly don’t think they’re insurmountable.

    Comment by KellyO | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  9. To paraphrase the great Vince Lombardi, it’s not how many times you get knocked down that matters. What matters is how many times you get up. Watch out because we’re getting up !

    Comment by reindear44 | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  10. Cyn….I don’t believe the season is over, either. Not just yet. But we’ve got to play much better and hope the Yankees cool off.

    Comment by Seamus | August 10, 2009 | Reply

  11. Once again, well said,Cyn! KTMFF!

    Comment by fla beck | August 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

