Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

A brief “Woooooooo!”

Jim Rice Yesterday - Photo by Steven Senne/AP

Jim Rice Yesterday - Photo by Steven Senne/AP

Work was crazy busy so I was off-line for the better part of the day yesterday (and will be today as well) and around 1pm it hit me what the day was – and knowing I wouldn’t be online to get the news. I anticipated a text message or two letting me know the outcome of the Hall of Fame voting.

KellyO was the first to hit my cell with the news: “He’s in! Woooooo!!!!”

And, a bit to my surprise, I started to cry. I’ve spent a little piece of this blog talking up Jim Rice. I make it no secret that I think he belongs in the hall of fame. There was a huge feeling of vindication for the man and his career upon reading Kelly’s words.

I normally write something just before the HoF announcements come out.  Every year I wrote about Jim Ed he didn’t get in.  I purposely wrote nothing this year.  So he has me to thank.  😆

I don’t think I could be happier for him if I knew him personally.

With any amount of luck, tomorrow begins my gig at WEEI. I’ll let you know as it gets more certain!

January 13, 2009 - Posted by | Awards, Good News, Hall of Fame, Players |

7 Comments »

  1. I knew in the morning that the announcement was going to be made in the early afternoon. I then got busy at work and forgot about it. Around 5:30 or so a fellow co-worker goes by and stops to tell me isn’t it great about Jim Rice. I realize I’d forgotten about the announcement and he must be telling me he made it into the HOF. I am so relieved that the writers finally saw the light. I would be so angry if it hadn’t worked out positively. Congratulations to Mr. Rice!

    Comment by Cruiser | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oh good, I’m looking forward to your debut. 🙂

    Comment by Rebecca | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. Congratulations, Jim Ed!

    Debut, huh?

    Okay, let’s go over your check list one more time…

    1. Tissues, because you’ll cry at the thought of achieving quite a milestone.

    2. Tissues, because you’ll cry knowing that you and the Boston media have closed a bit of a gap… (yeah, they’re catching up! :))

    3. Tissues, because you know all your family, friends and supporters are watching and busting with nothing but pride and good feelings.

    4. Tissues, because you just never know.

    5. Money for a candy bar and a Red Bull

    Go get em, Beazer!!

    Comment by Tru | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. Congratulations to him

    Its about time!

    Comment by Maria | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  5. Even I remembered and was online (at SG) when the announcement was made. Vindicated is right.

    Incidentally, how in the world could anyone not vote for Rickey Henderson? Dingbats.

    Looking forward to your debut, Cyn. Break a leg or whatever the blogging equivalent is!

    Comment by HorshamScouse | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. no shout out to rickey?

    Comment by Mariel | January 13, 2009 | Reply

  7. Good luck, Cyn!

    And BIG props to Jim Ed.

    Comment by Ted | January 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

