Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

2009

happy_new_year_21Happy New Year, folks!  I have to admit, I’m really looking forward to this one.

I was just telling someone about how much I love Christmas Eve but not so much Christmas Day.  Christmas Day is the last day of the “season”I love,  in my eyes and it gives people license to go back to being asses, so it’s a bit of a bummer.  I’m the opposite on New Year’s Eve.  Hate the Eve.  Hate it.  A bunch of drunken people going out and driving in crappy weather – woo, sign me up.  Ugh.  BUT I love New Year’s Day.  It’s a great day.  I can’t remember the last time I woke up on New Year’s Day and it wasn’t sunny and brisk out – and inviting me to embrace the new year.

So I am.  I’m embracing all the possibilities of the new year and I hope you all are as well.

For me, there are already two reasons to be excited about 2009.  The MLB Network and WEEI.com.

At 6pm tonight, the MLB Network goes live.  I actually have told just about everyone I know that I’ll be in front of a television at 6pm to see this happen.  I can’t remember the last time I was this excited about something on television that didn’t involve the Red Sox being in the World Series.   The best part is that I know so many other people who have the same plans as I do tonight.  It’s good when you’re friends are as passionate/crazy/obsessive as you are!

As most of you know, the EEI gig is something I’ve wanted for a long time.  (Well, I suppose I didn’t really aspire to work for WEEI but this opportunity is something I’ve wanted for a long time and the folks over there, specifically Rob Bradford and Tim Murphy, have really done a lot to get me even MORE excited about this new road I’m taking.)  Technically (or I should probably say “legally”) I become a part-time, temporary employee of WEEI on January 5th.  I’m not sure how that translates into starting to blog for them, though.  I have a sense that I’ll still be “here” on the fifth since specifics of the new blog haven’t been all ironed out yet.  No worries, folks, as when I switched over from “Red Sox Chick” to “Toeing the Rubber”, I’m going to have this site forwarded to the new blog.  So the day I begin blogging for WEEI, you’ll know as soon as you come to visit here.  As I said, though, I’m not really sure just when that will be yet.

New Year’s Day is the day I get to pretend the entire past year never happened.  There were a few high points in 2008 but a lot of lows.  Later on today I’m going to tackle both in a new post – as soon as I REALLY wake up.  🙂

Hope you all enjoy a safe, happy and healthy new year, folks!

January 1, 2009 - Posted by | Holidays! |

7 Comments »

  1. Happy New Year. I hope 2009 turns out to be an exciting year for you with your new opportunities. I’m waiting anxiously for you to get started at WEEI. 2008 was not the best year I’ve ever seen, but there were a few positives and certainly one of those positives was meeting you in Baltimore. All the best to you and your family in 2009.

    Comment by Don in VA | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. HAPPY NEW YEAR, SISTAH!

    Comment by Varitekchick | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. I too will be watching the MLB channel come live! Super excited! I just recently started reading your blog,but I’m happy for you about the weei gig! Happy New Year!

    Comment by Allison | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. There is something very special about all of this. Getting a chance to see someone you know and respect watch one of their dreams come true. Very happy for you; you’ll be as fabulous there, as you are everywhere else.

    Here’s hoping Cyn, that your greatest disappointments in the New Year are based upon your least expectations!

    Comment by Tru | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. Cyn, break a leg at ‘EEI!

    Happy New Year to you and the Sistah’s!

    Comment by bballwidow | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  6. Happy New Year Cyn, and here’s to you knocking their conservative socks off at EEI! Although, Rob doesn’t seem too bad…drives me crazy that I even listen to them but I need that news like I need coffee every morning!

    Took the Christmas tree down yesterday…hate that…it still looked so good but it had to go…getting a little crispy around the edges. It always amazes me how many Red Sox or baseball themed ornaments I have on that tree. I even bought the Big Papi Hallmark ornament last year! Baseball is an important part of Christmas, isn’t it?

    At least this year….still reliving my ticket purchase at Christmas at Fenway…what a dork I am..

    Happy 2009 to all of you out there!

    Dori

    Comment by Dori | January 2, 2009 | Reply

  7. Happy New Year!
    I’m openly envious and excited for you with the WEEI blog. Can’t wait for your debut post. 🙂

    Comment by Rebecca | January 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

