Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Writing/Blogging…what’s the difference?

Kyle Snyder photo by drownedworld73 @ flickr - Shown here to cleanse our palates of the asshattery I write about in this post.

Kyle Snyder shown here to cleanse our palates of the asshattery I write about in this post.

I’ve been writing stories and such since I was about 8 years old.  (Cyn trivia:  The first piece I ever wrote was a 13-page script for “Charlie’s Angels”.  It was to win a contest in “Tiger Beat” magazine.  I never submitted it, but haven’t stopped writing since.)  I have some formal writing training and am always looking for a good class to help me bone up, especially since I’ ve been baseball blogging more than any other kind of writing for a while now.  I will never claim to have talent on the same level as a Dan Shaughnessy (try to remember back to the days when he wrote some amazing  pieces on the Boston Celtics and forget, for a moment, about the hack work he’s done lately) even though I do think I have it in me to make it professionally at some point (not necessarily in sports writing) if I’d just get off my ass and focus.

I was offline for most of last week and only today read Curt Schilling’s latest entry in his blog over at WEEI.com that he posted on Christmas (quick plug, I’m 99% certain I’ll be over there next week.  January 5th is supposed to be the start date.  There’s just the matter of a little paperwork to be finished up.) and for the most part it’s a big “whatever”.  Some interesting views on how he feels about Teixeira.  Fairly  innocuous stuff.  Until I came to this passage:
.

.

Oh and one more thing. I really loathe to even mention CHB in anything anymore, due to his irrelevance on the Boston sports scene but I suck at keeping my tongue in places like this. CHB wrote the other day (thanks to the person forwarding this as it’s the first thing I’ve read that he’s written in five months)

“Best part of Curt Schilling’s blog on the WEEI website? Schill claims, ’I don’t get edited.’ Could he be more of a diva? Here’s a clue for the Big Lug – Ernest Hemingway had an editor. And Schill needs an editor more than I need a pitching coach.”

By edited I meant content Curly, because Lord knows I sure as hell need help with anything I write. But your last statement is laughable, because I think — and correct me if I am wrong — I am doing what you do for a living right?

I am pretty sure you’ve never stepped on a mound, well a field of any kind for that matter, and competed for something that truly mattered to people not on the field? So I am comfortable saying I am a lot closer to being able to do what you do, than you are able to do what I did …

The bolding is mine.  Good God in heaven above, does this  man really think he’s doing what Dan Shaughnessy does for a living?  Seriously?  He thinks writing a blog, on the level that HIS is, is the same as writing for a major newspaper?

And before I go on about the writing, how about the “you’ve  never stepped on a mound and competed for something that truly mattered” crap?  How does he know that the CHB didn’t play ball on any level (including little league)?  He doesn’t.  It’s just ego driving him yet again.  What HE does is amazing and difficult but what Shaughnessy does is so easy that HE can do that as well????

There are many, MANY well-written blogs out there.  Some written by professional writers, some written by people who aspire to be a professional writer and have the talent, just not the resume, some who just like to write and can do it well and some written by people who have an opinion they want to share but not necessarily the tools for writing well.   With respect to Curt, his blog can be interesting because it is written by a professional athlete who has an opinion on everything and loves to share it – especially when he knows it’s going to raise the hackles of many people.  This does not equate doing what Dan Shaughnessy does for a living.  It doesn’t even come close, unless you count the part where he pisses off a lot of people on a fairly regular basis.

How pissed am I that I’m in the position to defend the CHB??

Curt thinking he’s doing what any other professional writer is doing is laughable.  He doesn’t have a deadline, he doesn’t have to work to get people to talk to him, he doesn’t have to answer to anyone but himself and, most importantly to me, he doesn’t have the command of the English language or exceptional writing skills that you associate with a professional writer.  I know he has a hard-on for CHB and he’s just trying to get his licks in, but he’s working on a site with ACTUAL writers who have honed their craft and bust their butts to do what they do.  Belittling their profession is beneath even him.

Dan Shaughnessy might be a horse’s ass, but, in this case, so is Curt Schilling.  Pot, kettle and all, Curt.

(Kyle Snyder photo courtesy of drownedworld73 @ flickr)

December 29, 2008 - Posted by | Bloggers, Boston Sports Media, Pawtucket Red Sox | , ,

17 Comments »

  1. “It was to win a contest in “Tiger Beat” magazine.”

    ahahahaha! who did you like at the time? Shaun Cassidy or Leif Garrett?

    Comment by Monkey Business | December 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. I never knew anyone who liked Leif Garrett. I was totally a Shaun Cassidy kid. 🙂

    Comment by Cyn | December 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. An ignorant question, I know (in the actual sense of the word) but why is Dan Shaughnessy referred to as CHB? I’m sure it’s not particularly kind . . .

    Comment by KFish | December 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. Carl Everett, in yelling at Gordon Edes, referred to Shaughnessy as Edes’ “Curly-Haired Boyfriend” and a nickname was born.

    Comment by Cyn | December 29, 2008 | Reply

  5. The point is well made, but forgive me for laughing out loud… Curt is fighting with Dan, and in the process providing endless entertainment.

    In a way, it’s like payback for guys like the Colonel, who, way back when did everything to demean Ted Williams. And while Williams was perfectly adept at earning disdain for some of the things he’d said and done, he was largely unable to fight back in print and garner the audience in the same way Curt can.

    So in a way, it’s a cool thing to be sitting on the side lines and watch these guys go at one another, even in the juvenile form its taken. Fun stuff for fans to watch and read.

    Comment by Tru | December 29, 2008 | Reply

  6. Tru’s right. The whole bantering between Curt and CHB is pretty funny as they get their jibs in. I still think WEEI is not clearly aware of the tenacity and tit for tat writing Cyn is capable of. Curt is obviously full of himself on many levels. Boys will be boys…but I’m looking forward to our Girl in the Big Leagues to show her stuff. Cyn, I am damn proud of ya and alittle envious of this awesome opportunity. You go and make a Big Splash in Boston Harbor. You be the Cynsantional Person we all know and love!!

    Comment by Tex19 | December 29, 2008 | Reply

  7. I agree with Tru and Tex, the whole thing is comical. A pro writer taking it upon themselves to call out an amateur writer they seemingly disdain (for writing at least), and the amateur takes up the gauntlet, slaps the pro, and giggles with glee. Too silly! Hey, boys, what time should we meet on the playground to watch the big fight? Recess is no good, the teachers will catch on, how about after school?

    With that said, Cyn, I do understand your point. Schill is not a pro at writing, not even close, and his ego can just jump off the page. How dare he compare himself?

    However, I can see why Schill picked up the fight. He’s never portrayed himself as a professional writer, he knows he writes for his own fulfillment and for entertainment of the masses. (Judging by his ego, I think I have the order correct.) CHB’s comment sounds like pure jealousy to me. (Either that or he needed a subject line to refer to for the next few weeks.) Calling Schill on grammar or syntax might have come across as petty, but at least would have been more accurate…but why bring it up at all?

    I’ve read things that have been written by you and by CHB on the same subject, and I am continually amazed and impressed by how a “non-pro” can write so clearly, concisely, and in a manner that is so entertaining while CHB just reads like…well, to put it into sound terms, like an out-of tune violin being played by a little boy who is looking out the window and wishing he could be across the street in the park with the rest of the kids in the neighborhood.

    There are people with PhD’s in journalism and English literature whose mindless drivel is published because people are blinded by the degree or the supposed “expertise”, while someone just short of a GED has the world’s next great novel in a drawer, languishing for lack of Spell Check and someone to believe in their vision. Personally I look for honesty and integrity in the writing…someone who will be consistent, admit to a change of heart or mind or to an error, and an ability to stay objective or admit to the fact their own views may color what they are writing. All of which, by the way, are traits YOU have in spades and multiples and….anything else you can think of.

    Please yell at me if you feel you must, for comparing you favorably against both CHB and Schill…you can even grab the gauntlet and smack me with it, I will buy you a beer to warm you up first 😉

    Comment by Emmie | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  8. I was totally a Shaun Cassidy kid.

    Tony DeFranco…don’t forget Tony DeFranco. Actually, I was hot for Parker Stevenson, Shaun’s older “Hardy” brother as well.

    The Shaughnessy/Schilling feud just seems a little too calculated for me to take it very seriously.

    Comment by Lisa K. | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  9. Oh my God, Tony DeFranco!!!!!!!!!!!

    LOVED him!! 😆

    Totally agree about the Schilling/CHB “feud”.

    Comment by Cyn | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  10. God you guys are so young….I was in love with Paul Mccartney…sad but true. And then a strange but consuming desire for of all people Barry Manilow. Then I smartened up…now I just look at baseball players!

    LOL

    Dori

    Comment by Dori | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  11. i was a davy jones lover

    True Story

    Comment by Tex19 | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  12. Well, if lists are to be compiled, I’m jumping into Mr. Peabody’s Way Back Machine and going after Claudia Cardinale… it’s a good start.

    Comment by Tru | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  13. But Tex, you were only 8.

    Comment by Sharpie T. Silverwater | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  14. It’s just a pissing contest between CHB & Schilling. In some ways, Curt’s right. He’s far closer to doing CHB’s job than CHB would EVER be at doing his.

    Professional or otherwise, blogging for a national media outlet such as WEEI is relative to being a writer. As you will soon get the opportunity to experience….

    Almost exactly 45 days until Catchers/Pitchers report. Very fun!!!

    Have a fabulous New Year! May 2009 be a happy, healthy, and prosperous year for you and your family.

    Comment by Rebecca | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  15. Thanks for the kind words – happy new year to all of you as well!

    //Professional or otherwise, blogging for a national media outlet such as WEEI is relative to being a writer//

    Writer and being a writer are two vastly different things. Curt writes, CHB is a writer.

    Comment by Cyn | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  16. Sharpie…I still loved Davy Jones

    Comment by Tex19 | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  17. I still love Shaun Cassidy. 🙂

    In response to a few emails I got ripping me for my view on Curt, I offer this…which I ignored in my post because I didn’t want to pile on.

    //I really loathe to even mention CHB in anything anymore, //

    In this one fragment he shows a difference in writing and being a writer. The word he was looking for is “loath” and, at the very least, if he cared about people taking him seriously as a writer, since he thinks that’s what he is, he could hit dictionary.com and look up words he’s not sure about.

    Comment by Cyn | January 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

