Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Who do you love?

My man Mike - Photo by Kelly O'Connor

My man Mike Timlin - Photo by Kelly O'Connor

Are you watching the MLB Network’s preview?  If you are, are you getting the constant loop of the 2004 World Series film?  (I’m wondering if they are showing different video in different areas.)

I’ve never been so happy to be sitting in front of a television watching the same thing over and over and over again.  This is truly the best film ever made.

I’m not sure I ever sat down and thought about “my favorite Red Sox team” really. But watching this film has me thinking.  Every player they show, my initial response is “Oh I LOVED him!!!!”.  Every one.  Even Johnny Damon.  Hell, even Curt Schilling.  And although I’ll always credit Fred Lynn with stirring my Red Sox passion (and will always list him as my favorite “all time” player), there is no doubt in my mind that my favorite team of all time is the 2004 Boston Red Sox.

The 2007 World Champions make me very happy.  There are many guys from that team (waves to Kyle Snyder!) who I’ll always follow and root for – but 2004 was just so different.  To this day I can’t explain the feelings.  I’ve now watched this entire film or pieces of  it at least five times over these past two days and every time, EVERY TIME, there are pieces of it that make me cry.  Four years and another World Series banner later and “Back to Foulke! Red Sox fans have longed to hear it… the Boston Red Sox are World Champions!” makes me burst into tears.

(Side note about the 2004 World Series film:  It focuses a lot on the ALCS yet totally skims right over Slappy.  Boo, MLB.  BOO.  Ooh, one other note:  Over the last four year, my man Mike Timlin has aged.  He looks like a baby in this video.)

I know I’m totally biased, but watching this again and reliving the totally improbable ALCS win followed by sweeping the World Series…remembering how down the media around here was on the team and how depressed most of us were before “The Steal” – I’m not sure how anyone can watch this film and not understand why Red Sox fans are as rabid as we are.

Wishing away time is not really my style, but all the MLB Newtwork is doing for me, right now, is making me wish it was April!

December 20, 2008 - Posted by | 2004 Red Sox, Memories | ,

7 Comments »

  1. They are showing the same loop here in FL. I watched it last night and realized I was smiling for the whole hour.
    Slappy was mentioned at least once. I remember the “you can’t hit someone with your purse” comment from Dennis Leary. His whole “who me? what can you be thinking?” attitude was totally glossed over but that’s okay with me. He wasn’t the star of the show.
    I think I’d blocked out how many errors the Sox had in the first two games of the World Series. Horrible fielding and yet the Sox never trailed in any of the 4 games.
    From coming back from 0-3 for the first time ever to being the first team to win 8 straight play off games, this team was incredibly special.

    Comment by Brenken | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Isn’t it awesome to just flip to that channel and see something that makes you so happy? This is the equivalent of a goosebump pill. Just pop it, and get instant goosebumps.

    The first night I noticed it was on, I watched till the end, and then the 2005 WS Film came on. I figured maybe they were going through all of them. But literally every time I’ve flipped it on since, it’s been the ’04 one. NESN should take a cue from this–it’s WAY better to just show constant old Red Sox stuff than fishing, hunting, paid programming, etc.

    Comment by jere | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  3. Which cable company do you subscribe to? I’m trying to find it on Time Warner up in Portland, Maine and am not having any luck.

    Thanks.

    Comment by KFish | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. Comcast is showing it. Not sure about Time Warner.

    Comment by Cyn | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Verizon Fios also showing it, channel 86 in Providence area. (Currently running with no sound–glad MLB is getting its usual screw-ups out of the way now before it actually premieres….)

    Comment by jere | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. We have no sound on Comcast right now as well, Jere! Sweet.

    Comment by Cyn | December 21, 2008 | Reply

  7. A couple of years ago, I was at a sports museum in San Diego. In one room, they were showing Padres playoff highlights as part of their baseball exhibit. There was a woman sitting there in her Padres jersey, all alone, wiping her eyes with a tissue as she watched.

    “I always cry when I see this,” she said to me as I walked past. As if she even had to explain.

    Comment by JS | January 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

