Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Old Friends

Matt Clement in the Sox dugout in 2007 - Photo by Kelly O'Connor

Matt Clement in the Sox dugout in 2007 - Photo by Kelly O'Connor

I’ve been fond of Matt Clement ever since he was with the Red Sox.  I never liked the backlash he got because he was hurt, and I never believed he was a “head case”.  I felt woefully alone in my appreciations for Matt.  Nonetheless, I’ve tried to keep up with his career.  So I was happy to find out that he signed a minor league deal with the Toronto Blue Jays.

Well, at least it APPEARS that he has.  JP isn’t giving anything away just yet.  The Jays were also looking at Carl Pavano.  Their rotation could be interesting come 2009.

And speaking of free agents who have played for the Red Sox…I was just asking around about what was going on with Alex Cora and now we have an answer – sort of.

.

While not as pressing, the Mets’ top target to replace Damion Easley as a backup middle infielder also is becoming clearer. Team insiders acknowledge Alex Cora is the No. 1 target, with Nick Punto also on the radar, although the Twins and Phillies are pursuing Punto. Cora, 33, hit .270 with nine RBI in 152 at-bats for the Red Sox last season.

He’s the Met’s “No. 1 target”?  Well, I’m glad someone is interested in him since it seems the Sox aren’t.  And better the Mets than the Yankees, right?

And how about Derek Lowe?  Now that they’ve signed CC Sabathia, the Yankees are becoming “more attractive” to him.  Well of course they are, if the rumors are true that the Yanks offered Lowe four years and over $60 million.  I have to admit, for $60 million, I’D work for the Yankees.  I’m not proud.  Or rich.

Finally, please God save me from Curt Schilling.  His response on his blog to someone who didn’t agree with him?  I’d gladly doff that cap to punch someone like you in the mouth.The majority of his responses to those who don’t agree with him are insults (or, in this case, threats).  I don’t understand the point in writing about something so inflammatory if you can’t handle simple debate.  Not insults to Curt (which I’m all for blowing people like that out of the water) but just dissenting opinions.  Yes, it’s his blog and he can write what he wants, but resorting to insults (and, again, a physical threat) absolutely takes away from anything he thinks he’s accomplished with his blog.  The comments over there are moderated, so he has the power to just not publish comments that set him off so.  But it seems he’s publishing them all (and good for him for that) but almost as if he’s doing it JUST to get his retorts in.  We have different styles, we two.  I choose to try and NOT antagonize my readers.

A very wise person once told me that interacting with the commenters on your blog is a bad idea because there will, ultimately, come a time when your basest instincts come out and you’ll come across sounding like an idiot…or worse.  I think Curt’s blog is proof of that.  I’m all for fiery discussions in the comments section, but I’m against letting my blog turn into a breeding ground for flame wars.  It’ll be interesting to see what comes up once I’m writing at WEEI.com.  Like Curt, I don’t suffer people I believe to be fools easily.  But my approach to them is quite different than his.  I AM inspired by the fact that this is happening at WEEI.  I worried some of my creativity (and control over my own blog) might be squelched once I got over there (for no reasons other than my own concerns – Rob Bradford hasn’t said anything to encourage my thinking that).

I’m MUCH less controversial than Curt is.  It should be a cakewalk for me.  🙂

In news about a current Sox player, Nolan Ryan is coveting Clay Buchholz.  I think we should sic Curt on him.

December 12, 2008 - Posted by | 2008 ALCS, Boston Sports Media, Hot Stove, Housekeeping, Live Blog, Players, Randomness, Rants, That was sweet! | , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. I think you have something there. Donnelly/vs/Schilling, I hope EEI is listening.

    Was it you he threatened?

    I use to like him ;( he had better stay away from my chick.
    Noni

    Comment by Red Son Hen | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. Nah he didn’t write that to me…I’m not sure he’d go that far. The commenter had a male name.

    Comment by Cyn | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. I thought I heard yesterday the Twins had signed Punto.
    The Sox had better start looking for some decent back up fielders if they aren’t going to sign Cora and Coco is now gone.

    Comment by Brenken | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. I think it will be a cakewalk for you over there for sure.

    As far as Curt’s responses — well, it’s freedom of speech at it’s finest. People can say what they want — he can respond how he wants to, right? He can choose not to respond, but it makes him feel better to do so. He’s clearly passionate – right, wrong or otherwise. Not a bad thing. And, it makes for interesting reading, truth be told. I don’t think he necessarily has to be held to a higher standard than anyone else with regards to voicing his opinion in a forum that he is doing for his own enjoyment, just because he’s a ball player – you know what I mean? But, that’s just MHO.

    I agree w. you on Clement. I never thought he was a “headcase” either; but I do believe that he became gunshy on the mound. And truthfully – who can blame him??

    Comment by Rebecca | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  5. //Not a bad thing//

    We’ll have to agree to disagree here. I think speaking to people in the manner he did (especially threatening to punch someone) is a “bad thing”. At the very least it shows he doesn’t know how to deal with a dissenting opinion except to attack it.

    Comment by Cyn | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Off subject, but Cyn what is the image next to your name? It looks like Kermit the frog hiding under a blanket.

    Comment by Sharpie T. Silverwater | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  7. The green in the photo is grass on a baseball field. 🙂

    It’s a close-up of Kyle Snyder’s hands as he’s getting ready to throw a pitch.

    Comment by Cyn | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  8. I wouldn’t work for the Yanks for 60 million. I think of it this way: If I had some skill that the Yanks felt was worth 60 million dollars, surely some other teams would want me, too. So I’d go to the Red Sox and offer to do the same job for a mere 1 million. Surely I’m worth it at 1/60th the price.

    Comment by jere | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  9. //I don’t think he necessarily has to be held to a higher standard than anyone else//

    Rebecca, I for one wouldn’t be holding him to a higher standard by saying his behavior has crossed the line–I’d be holding him to the same standard I’d hold any person to. I support Curt’s right to his opinion and to his own blog, but when he goes over the top in his responses, I take him a lot less seriously. And I believe he does want to be taken seriously–his commitment to the causes he believes in, and his desire to get others involved in those causes, shows that pretty clearly. He ought to be able to disagree with folks without being an ass about it. If he WANTS to be an ass, sure, he has that right–but it diminishes his credibility in representing his causes.

    Don’t get me wrong–I like to see passion in someone’s writing, and I like that it feels like what he says is coming from him, and not written up by an intern or ghostwriter. But you can tell people that you believe they’re wrong or misinformed without calling them idiots or lamenting the fact that you can’t punch them.

    Comment by KellyO | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  10. Hey, I just put you on my blogroll. Could you put my Sox site on yours? Fire Brand of the American League can be found at firebrandal.com. Thanks!!

    Comment by Evan Brunell | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hi Kelly,
    I hear what you and Cyn are saying; I just didn’t take it as that literal of a comment, I thought of it more as being snarky.

    But that’s just how I interpret his tone and his responses. He’s relatively matter of fact, and sarcastic – which I tend to find funny, and so I do truly like that he responds, snarky or otherwise. I like that he is who he is, right – wrong – or indifferent.

    But that’s what makes us all different, and able to agree to disagree. 🙂

    See how diplomatic we chicks are? 😉

    Comment by Rebecca | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  12. I don’t dislike who he is. I dislike how he treats others.

    Comment by Cyn | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  13. I’ll admit it; I like Curt. The guy apparently has no filter when it comes to talking and I sort of admire that as a person who doesn’t want to offend anyone.

    That said, it can be done in a different way. A guy like me can make the adjustment. A guy with enough money to set the next 3 generations of his family up for life? I’m not quite sure he thinks the same way.

    Stand your ground, Cyn. It’s part of what makes you, You.

    Comment by Ted | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  14. “I don’t dislike who he is.”

    I do. Curt Schilling is a complete ass, not to mention one of the neediest people on the planet. IMO he treats people badly because he can’t stand the idea that maybe not everybody is one of his sycophants, groveling at his feet.

    Doesn’t make him less talented, doesn’t make me less grateful. But it does make me think you could, in the words of Dr. Wilson to Dr. House, build enormous monuments to his self-centeredness.

    Comment by Lisa K. | December 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

