Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Did you know…

*  That Todd Walker is in the LSU Hall of Fame?  He was inducted in 2006 and was described as “Arguably, the best pure hitter in the [then] 113-year history of the program”.  (Side note about Walker.  He was, in 2003, the very first recipient of a postcard shower.  We used his improvement after he received the cards as proof they worked!  And we also saw one of the cards hanging in his locker at the end of the season!)

*  From June 2007 through the end of that season, Bill Mueller was the hitting coach for the Los Angeles Dodgers?   I honestly didn’t know this.  I have no idea how I missed it.  He’s now back in the front office in L.A. – I’m going to guess he tired of dealing with the likes of Jeff Kent.  🙂

*  Pokey Reese is a free agent now who strained both his hamstrings in 2008 while playing for the Columbus Clippers?  Pokey has had his troubles before the Nationals picked him up.  I hope he finds a team for 2009.

*  Kyle Snyder and Bronson Arroyo share the same agent and have been known to go fishing together.  Seriously – if I could be under THAT boat with a tape recorder – I’d be pretty damn happy.

Todd Walker and some guy in 2003 - Photo by Jim Davis

Todd Walker and some guy in 2003 - Photo by Jim Davis (Yeah, you were expecting a photo of Kyle - I know - suprise!)

December 10, 2008 - Posted by | 2008 ALCS, Pawtucket Red Sox, Randomness, Rants, Technical Difficulties | , , , , ,

16 Comments »

  1. Hi Cyn..the Sox WILL land Teixeira…they only have eyes for him during these so quiet winter meetings. I hope this comment finds you well. Pete

    Comment by Peter N | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. Ah well… Sabathia went to NY.
    Now I guess they will definitely pursue Burnett which really, doesn’t excite me terribly.

    Comment by Rebecca | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. The first call I received after the end of the 2003 season was from a neighbor who knew I didn’t want to talk about the game. She wanted to tell me she went to school with Todd walker and knew his family well. She wanted to tell me what a nice person he is as well as his whole family. I told her we called him Hot Toddy and she thought that was funny. He’s head and shoulders and hair better looking than the guy standing next to him in that photo.

    Cyn, if you’re ever under that boat, be sure to have some SCUBA gear with you.

    Comment by Brenken | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. You know…I forgot just how cute Walker was!

    Can’t take this hot stove crap….I know Texeira is a catch but I just don’t want to lose Mike Lowell. I am one of those people that think he would have been the difference maker in the Tampa series just as he was in 07. If he is healthy, I want him. And, Youk is a better first baseman in my book than a third baseman anymore. I know this is probably heresy but who is healthier Papi or Lowell…I don’t know. I know David has been the face of the franchise for a few years but let’s face it…he isn’t what he used to be either.

    And, I still want TEK back…Can I have that for Christmas please?

    db

    Comment by Dori | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. They make waterproof tape recorders? Just go ahead and be in the boat.

    How about a four man “rotation” with Tex, Youk, Mikey and Papi? They could each still play about 120 games and if someone has an injury, he can sit out and we don’t lose anything. That would also leave us with a well-rested post-season lineup.

    Comment by Sharpie T. Silverwater | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. I LIKE YOUR IDEA SHARPIE! BUT WHAT I AM HEARING ON THE RADIO AND READING IS THAT IT’S NOT IN THE CARDS TO PAY THE KIND OF MONEY FOR TEXEIRA AND MIKEY AND LET ONE OF THEM SIT. I THINK ITS A GREAT IDEA BUT I DON’T RUN A BASEBALL TEAM!! ALSO, THAT THEY AS PLAYERS WOULD NOT LIKE THAT SETUP. IT WORKED OUT WELL WITH COCO AND ELLSBURY THIS YEAR BUT THAT WAS JUST LUCKY ACCORDING TO THOSE WHO KNOW!

    dB

    Comment by Dori | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. Dori, for Christmas, I wish I could give you a ‘Tek resigning.
    Cyn, for you, I’d get you IN that boat, ON that fishing trip, seated BETWEEN Bronson and Kyle…

    How I wish I had the power…

    Comment by KFish | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. Dori, I totally agree with everything you wrote.
    I want Tek, Lowell and Youk playing for the Sox next year.

    Comment by Brenken | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  9. I learned a long time ago that what I want for the team and what is good for the team are usually two totally different things.

    If I had my way, John Valentin would have retired as the Red Sox shortstop. You see what I mean?

    Comment by Cyn | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  10. I agree with Cyn. I’d be a terrible baseball business person. If I had my way, we’d still have Nomar, Pedro… you get the idea. I am incredibly sentimental about baseball. I watch from an emotional place. That’s just how it is. Nothing wrong with that.

    I cannot listen to any rumblings about Big Papi being traded. I won’t have it! Tek too. He needs to stay. He’s a Sox player if there ever was one. He belongs here.

    Comment by KFish | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  11. Actually I DID already know that Todd was in the LSU hall of fame…probably cos i follow lsu abit though. Especially since I found out he had went to college there. He is definitely a cutie pie!

    and Im with brenken…you’ll need scuba gear

    Comment by Tex19 | December 10, 2008 | Reply

  12. Stories about Scenic being ahead in his rehab and good to go for the start of ST make the Texeira chatter less relevant. I hadn’t heard anything about Papi (how would I down here?) but it has to happen sooner or later.

    So Youk at first, Mikey at third and Texeira as DH?

    Comment by HorshamScouse | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  13. HS, go wash your mouth out with soup for even suggesting such a thing!
    Our Big Papi isn’t going anywhere!

    Comment by Brenken | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  14. I won’t have it!

    Comment by KFish | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  15. off subject –
    – once again good triumphs over evil.
    – your blog is alive and well, your arch nemeses with the shave eyebrows hasn’t posted on her blog for over a month.

    What does it all mean?
    It means redsoxbitch WINS.

    – that is all, back to hibernation . . .

    Comment by BB | December 11, 2008 | Reply

  16. BB – you kill me. 😆

    Comment by Cyn | December 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

