Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Coolio

Totally pimping my soon-to-be new online boss:  Rob Bradford has a video blog (along with Lou Merloni) today from the winter meetings in Las Vegas.  Check it out below.  Interesting stuff, but the most interesting is the revelation that word is Clay Buchholz is NOT on the table.  Nope, the front office wants to keep the kid around.

This pleases me, but doesn’t surprise me.  Kelly O’Connor was already talking about this before Rob and Lou ever made it to Vegas.  Hearing it from Rob just verified what she had already told me.  It’s nice to have friends who are wicked smaht.  🙂

Of course, now I’ll be worrying about the future of Justin Masterson for a while now.

December 8, 2008 - Posted by | Hot Stove | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Check’s in the mail! 🙂

    Buchholz is a real puzzle. I understand the reasoning; if he and Masterson each play to the best of their ability, Buck is more valuable, because of the nature of starting pitching and the type of starter he is. That said, I think the possible range of outcomes for Buck in 2009 is very wide, while the range for Masterson is fairly narrow [he’s going to be good]. Putting on the GM cap for a moment, it’s clear the guy you would want to trade is Bowden (less proven, funky delivery) but of course those same factors mean he’s not going to bring you as much.

    (Taking off GM cap now. Don’t touch Bowden, dammit.)

    I wonder as well if making it clear to Buck that we don’t want to trade you is part of the project of returning him to success in the majors.

    Comment by KellyO | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. I cant’ watch the blog til I get home tonight, though I’d heard that neither Bucholz nor Masterson were up for grabs in any kind of deal a few weeks back. I think Bucholz has potential, but was rushed. He just never looked ready in this girl’s opinion.

    Today’s rumor du jour (only quasi rumor because Sox reps have confirmed this) is that AJ Burnett is in hot pursuit by the Sox, which, eh – I’d rather CC Sabathia truthfully.

    Texeira seems destined to come to Boston; I’m not overly committed to Mike Lowell. Don’t get me wrong, I love the guy – but my bigger issue is forcing Youk to third.

    Love, love, love the Hot Stove. 😉 You just never know what’s going to happen…!

    Comment by Rebecca | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. //Check’s in the mail! 🙂 // 😆

    The timing was just too perfect, Kelly – I couldn’t NOT note it.

    I agree that there should have been a better way to handle Buchholz. I’m hoping sending him to Portland and to Mike Cather this year has helped knock things back into whack.

    I’d prefer the Sox focus on a pitcher instead of, say, a Teixeira, although I understand why there would be the desire for him.

    Comment by Cyn | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. I hear you — though I really would like to see both. We need another strong bat in the lineup, truly. Manny, love him or hate him – was a big part of the offense. There’s a glaring hole there now and it needs to be patched.

    Comment by Rebecca | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  5. I definitely don’t want to see Masterson or Bowden go anywhere. Even though I saw Clay’s first two starts at Fenway I’m not that attached to him.

    I really don’t get the talk I heard today about putting Youk in left field. I just have to shake my head at that one.

    Comment by Cruiser | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. Kelly will run the Red Sox one day. As soon as someone other than her friends realizes how freaking smart she is.

    I only wish to be Wally when it happens.

    Comment by Ted | December 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

