Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Sell Out

Ever feel like you’ve sold your soul to the devil?  I’m feeling a little like that right now.

I’m really excited about the opportunity to blog over at WEEI.com.  And I’m eager for January to get here so we can kick that into gear – but I’d be lying if I said I had no reservations about doing it.  Here I have total creative control.  I get to write what I want (and I’m told the same will hold true at EEI), I have control over the comments so if flame wars begin or trolls try to take over, I get to make them disappear (still don’t know if that will hold true over at EEI) and I get to call out the media jerks when assholiness kicks in.

Most importantly, and this is huge, there isn’t anyone else on this site I’m connected to writing things I don’t agree with or support.  Tru has been a sometime contributor and there have been occasions when I didn’t completely agree with his perspective and still posted his entries…but there was never anything (and never WILL be anything) Tru writes that I would find offensive or annoying.  He’s just not that type of person.  So I am happy to share space with Tru.

These are things that can’t be said about some connected to WEEI.

Let’s just say I don’t suffer misogyny well.  Let’s also say that I don’t think Rob Bradford is a misogynist.  I’ve met him.  I’ve had long conversations with him.  He’s good people.  And it’s his job to put content on the site that is going to get people to visit the site and hang around reading.  I understand these things.  And I entered the contest and accepted the “prize” knowing what the atmosphere at WEEI was, generally.  So I suppose I’m being a little hypocritical by worrying that I’m selling out because, basically, that’s exactly what I’m doing.

So I swallow my pride and I take on what is, essentially, my dream “job”, and hope that I can really make a dent in the wall of testosterone over there.  We shall soon see, huh?

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | Randomness |

15 Comments »

  1. Do you honestly think it’s misogyny or perhaps it’s more sexism that’s the problem there?

    Comment by Tex19 | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. I think it’s both. I also think that misogyny comes out in many forms, including sexism.

    To most over there, (especially on the radio) women are a joke. It’s a tough truth for me to swallow, but it’s there.

    Comment by Cyn | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. i think it’s best I don’t hear them then…cos my boots aren’t just made for walking if you know what I mean

    Comment by Tex19 | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Sell Out? I don’t think so. You are going into something you have always wanted. You won, fair and square. No one gave it to you. You are strong enough to deal with what ever they throw at you, you are your mothers daughter!
    There will be no swallowing of Pride. You will hold your head high and do what you do best!

    Comment by Noni | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ditto what Noni said! 😀
    Mothers are so smart.

    Comment by Brenken | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. As a follow-up of sorts, I received an email from Rob Bradford (about some questions I had NOT related to this post) and he was very thoughtful in his response – which gives me a little hope.

    And thanks for the kind words (even if you two are a little biased!). 🙂

    Comment by Cyn | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. We need you to represent!!! You should wear a pink hat on your first visit there. Oh man, this is going to be fun.

    Comment by Cruiser | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  8. OH MY GOD…THE PINK HAT IDEA IS AWESOME! SHOW UP LOOKING LIKE A DORK AND THEN BLOW THERE SOCKS OFF WITH YOUR FIRST BLOG!

    SERIOUSLY CONSIDER YOURSELVES AN UNDERCOVER AGENT FOR THE REST OF US. WHAT FUN YOU CAN HAVE MESSING WITH THEM! ACTUALLY, I THINK THERE ARE A FEW NICE PEOPLE TO DEAL WITH. I’M THINKING MICHAEL HOLLEY AND DALE ARNOLD….BUT THE DENNIS/CALLAHAN DUO…OH MESS WITH THEM CYN…MESS WITH THEM!

    I’M REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS! YOU ARE TALENTED ENOUGH TO STAND UP TO IT GIRLFRIEND!

    DB

    Comment by Dori | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hmm. Here’s the thing. If you want to be a writer – or rather, a writer within the respected circles of media – then, conforming is a necessary evil — to a certain extent.

    You should never have to compromise who you are in doing so.

    That being said – you’re right that in that venue sexism is rampant. This is your opportunity to set that straight, sistah. 😉

    I entered the contest myself, and had I been given the opportunity to write on WEEI and have people actually hold water to what I’m saying — I know I’d make them think twice about the “pink hatter” comments; and you KNOW that you’ll be able to do the same.

    In order to be a sellout – you’d have to actually sell yourself short of who you really are. And I just don’t see you doing that… and neither does anyone else obviously – and that’s why you won.

    Comment by Rebecca | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  10. Hear, hear! I agree with everyone above 🙂

    The fact that sexism and/or misogyny are observable on that site doesn’t mean that you are selling out by blogging there. In fact, you may have an opportunity to change the culture there a tiny bit. Even if none of the other writers on there ever cease their biased remarks, readers and fans will now have a chance to see a more balanced view. If someone over there says “Women cannot write about sports”, then there is your blog right there, ON THEIR SITE, proving them wrong.

    I know I stumbled across your blog completely by accident, but I kept reading because I think your writing is fantastic. The fact that more people are going to have a chance to read it is, I think, a wonderful thing. It’s a chance for you to live you dream, or at least a part of it, and that is an amazing chance!

    You are not a sellout to go there and voice your opinion. You would be a sellout if, instead of calling them out on the “pink hat” stuff, you actually behaved like their stereotype of a “pink hat” so that they would like you and you would ahve a job. You are not going to do that, and we all know you never will. And we all know that, if this is not for you, your gut is going to tell you so. And then, you have every right to pick up your laptop and go home, so to speak 😉 If it winds up being a situation you found intolerable, we would all back you up 100%.

    I cannot WAIT till you start over there! 😀 youa re going to set them all on their ears and make them think.

    Emmie

    Comment by Emmie | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hey Cyn. Did you see the Ultimate Red Sox show on NESN last night? Did anyone see Heidi Watney? Can you say “Eye Candy?”. It was shameless. Honestly, I have no beef with Ms. Watney and don’t know anything about her as a person. My point is, though, she has to be attractive for the job. Sexism in baseball is everywhere. Tina had to look good. Hazel too. I’m SO tired of it. It doesn’t seem to be enough that some women seem to know what they’re talking about with regards to the sport. I cannot tell you how much this bothers me. You can have overweight, aging men carrying on like theirs in the only opinion in the world and they get a few hours of airtime everyday, but little respect is given to the knowledgeable female who doesn’t wear the tight outfit and full face of makeup. (ESPN may be the exception…go Chris McKendry, Shelley Smith and Linda Cohn!)

    You have a chance to help change any small part of that you can. All you can do is represent yourself as honestly as possible. Other women will be reading and we’re here and ready to give you support.

    I don’t see you as a sellout. You may have to put up with a fair amount of grief to get your message across, but I don’t think that degrades your opinion in the slightest.

    Be well and forge ahead. We’re all with you.

    Comment by KFish | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  12. Sorry…didn’t mean to discount the men that will also be there to support you. Sorry guys. I know plenty of you will be supportive too.

    Comment by KFish | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  13. Just a thought….
    I, personally don’t care for Heidi Watney because I don’t believe her as being a sports girl; to me, she’s just eye candy. Plus, I think she has no “pizazz” on camera. Hazel Mae – I thought not only had that but really was into sports. Tina Cervasio, was adorable – and a sports girl.

    There seems to be a thought process that “attractive girls” can’t be sports girls… which is rather sexist as well. Surely that’s not what was meant KFish, right?

    Comment by Rebecca | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  14. No. It isn’t. It just bothers me when women are hired solely on the basis of whether or not they are attractive and any sports knowledge appears to be inconsequential. It also bothers me when women who do have a fair bit of sports knowledge who appear to look just fine to me are criticized for not “glamming it up”. I don’t think anyone on this site suggested that needed to happen, but I do know it has been suggested that in other forums.

    Of course there are plenty of attractive women who are also sports fans. I didn’t mean to suggest the two were mutually exclusive.

    Comment by KFish | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  15. Cyn- If they give you a sexist kick in your ass, and you walk out the door, that’s selling out. You need to walk in proudly, and kick ass. We got your back.

    Comment by Dewey | December 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

