Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Just say NOOOOOOO!

So if you clicked the link to the article about Derek Lowe and you continued reading, you read Jay Payton saying:

“When I talked to my agent recently, Boston was the first team I mentioned. I don’t know if it’s in the cards or if I squished my chances of ever returning there. I know the circumstances of my departure from there a few years back were blown out of proportion. I’ve talked to Tito [Terry Francona] several times since then and we’re OK. I’d love the chance to go back there because that’s a winning organization and they’re committed to winning. They do things the right way.”

Jay Payton drops acid, doesn’t he? Funny how, at the time, he never claimed that the story about his getting into a fight with Tito in the dugout after weeks of being a general pain in the ass because he wasn’t a everyday player was untrue or “blown out of proportion”. Only when he wants a job does he suddenly laugh it all off. He also was quoted as saying he and Kevin Millar had a chance to get back at Boston when he joined the Orioles. He was such a horse’s ass that he is the only player I’ve ever booed in his own home park.  (This year, in Baltimore. I even surprised myself.)

But now he loves Boston.  Being a bench player is exactly what he wants.  He’ll be a good boy.

This guy makes my brain hurt.

If we’re going to recycle fourth outfielders, I’d like to put my vote in for Gabe Kapler, thanks.  Guy appreciated every moment he was here and could be just as productive (if not more so) than Payton.

Just say “no” to the guy who antagonized Tito in order to get off the team, Theo.

November 30, 2008 - Posted by | Hot Stove, Players | , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. I agree with you, it would be great to have Gabe back but there was never mention of Millar in the interview. No way would Boston ever offer Payton anything after how he behaved. I don’t believe it/him.
    http://www.boston.com/sports/baseball/articles/2008/11/30/lowe_in_win_win_situation/?page=full

    Comment by Montego76 | November 30, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oh I know Millar wasn’t mentioned in that story – when Payton joined the O’s he said something about he and Millar getting back at Boston. Just another small reason I find the guy repulsive.

    And I love Millar but he as our fourth outfielder would make me cry. 🙂

    Comment by Cyn | November 30, 2008 | Reply

  3. Nancy’s head would explode if the Sox signed Jay Payton.
    I agree that I hope the Sox say “thanks but no thanks” to Mr Payton.

    Comment by Brenken | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. Jay Payton?? Hell, no. He more than “squished” his chances. Anyone who could antagonize Tito to the extent that he reacted negatively – well, he is truly a bad man. Boo

    Comment by Beth | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hey, my little icon looks like a demonic Christmas tree!

    Comment by Beth | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  6. How Jay Payton doesn’t think he burned his bridges in Boston is beyond me. I’m sure Tito is more than civil to him when they see each other as he just seems to be that kind of guy, always civil, unlike Payton. That by no means indicates that Tito would even consider having to put up with that jerk again.

    Comment by Cruiser | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  7. Bring back Gabe.

    Comment by Ted | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  8. They would never bring Jay Payton back. Not in a million years…!

    Congrats, btw on winnging the contest. I hadn’t realized the winners were announced. I had voted for you. 🙂

    Comment by Rebecca | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  9. I have to believe the same – that it won’t happen as long at Tito and Theo are around. Here’s hoping.

    Thanks, Rebecca! That’s terribly nice of you!

    Comment by Cyn | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  10. All I have to say is …. GABE THE BABE! He is to me what Bronson is to CYN!

    Dori

    Comment by Dori | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  11. The way Tito and Theo literally dumped Payton on the curb and left him behind to get himself home spoke volumes about their feelsing regarding the situation. The Sox are, all in all, a pretty private organization that manages to keep their arguments and disagreements out of the spotlight. The fact that they not only didn’t keep this behind closed doors, but that they did not CARE that the world saw it, told it all. “We are done. Get out.”

    The interview in the newspapers taht Payton gave after he eventually signed a contract on the West Coast, admitting that he deliberately started the argument in public with Tito in the dugout in order to get himself off the Red Sox, spoke volumes to me about his character. Ironically, Millar was later identified as one of the people trying to calm Payton down to prevent him from making an ass of himself; he later reportedly stuck up for Tito when things got out of hand, and Payton then critiqued him for “butting in”. (I wish to God I could get a link to the article where I read all of this, alas it is very old and I have no idea where it is!)

    Tito and Theo both strike me as decent human beings with knowledge of basic manners, so it doesn’t surprise me that, if they saw Payton at a ballpark, they would be pleasant and say hello, or even accept an apology (like I believe one was offered, HAH!) I think the fact Payton is presenting his case in this manner means he is…

    …more naive than we realize…
    OR
    …the victim of head trauma that has previously gone undisclosed…
    OR
    …seriously overpaying his publicist (Buddy, youa re doing TOO good of a job, lay off the nice guy routine a bit if you want to sound believable, sheesh.)
    OR
    ….he really is a pompus, narcissistic ass who has no concept of how his behavior affects people’s perceptions of him at all; he just sees what he wants to see, in front of him, at the moment.

    Sorry, I’m ranting and rambling, but Payton is one player who really works my last nerve. Grrr…. >:-(

    Comment by Emmie | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  12. No need to be sorry, Emmie. We share the same memories but I had a difficult time finding links so I didn’t want to throw it into the entry as fact without the supporting evidence.

    But in the comments section? You go, woman!

    Comment by Cyn | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  13. Jay Payton being taken back by the Red Sox, are you kidding me. That’ll happen when I become the third base ballboy for the Red Sox or when something freezes over.

    Comment by Don In VA | December 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

