Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Well THIS is interesting

Rob Bradford is reporting that “sources familiar with the negotiations” are sayting that the Red Sox have made an offer to Jason Varitek, and the offer is only for one year.

Eesh.

Of course no one from the Red Sox nor Varitek’s camp are commenting on the story so it could all just be smoke…but if it isn’t – one year?  Hell, even I was convinced they’d offer him two.  If the one year offer is legit, it speaks volumes to Theo’s thoughts on where the team is going.  The folks saying ‘keep him around a year to help him train his replacement’ might not be too far off.

Also, I received an email from someone saying they’re from Sarasota and telling me to keep an eye out for Kyle Snyder news this week.  Don’t mess with me on this one, Sarasota.  I’m excited for some Kyle news, yet worried what it could be.

Ah, the Hot Stove.  Ugh.

November 24, 2008 - Posted by | Hot Stove | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Well this, if true, is an odd and interesting turn of events. I’m trapped somewhere in between the Boras factor and Epstein.

    A one year deal offer to Varitek will certainly be rejected, IMO.

    Perhaps this is the shot the Sox fire across the bow of the good ship Boras? I mean, he did suggest earlier in the month that Varitek would be worth a similar deal to that which Posada signed.

    Perhaps the press is on with the negotiations for Tek’s services, and in between a four and one year deal is a real contract; 2 years with a third option.

    IMO, Tek would see a pay decrease, and perhaps net a maximum $7 million per, for two years. It seems too much to compensate him beyond that, especially considering his decline this past season.

    And yes, I know all about the viral infections and nasty divorce. But frankly, I don’t expect a career year from him in 2009.

    Are the Sox looking at Texas as a possible partner for dealing arms for catchers?

    Comment by Tru | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Cyn, I’m with you. The Hot Stove gives me ulcers.

    Comment by Ted | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m getting an ulcer too. The offer, at face value, seems insulting. I can only hope Cyn is right and it’s all part of the negotiation process. I know many will disagree with me but I think the Sox will have a VERY different year without Tek. I think the pitchers will have to undergo a significant adjustment. I can’t see how they’re prepared to fill the voids (yes, plural) that his absence will present.

    I also don’t know how much more attention I can pay to the Hot Stove season…

    Ugh indeed.

    Comment by KFish | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ruh Roh

    Boras says there is no offer in house from the Sox for one year…. So Scott, you don’t suppose do you…

    Comment by Tru | November 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. Looking at Bradford’s story right now… Cyn, you have to make sure they let you deal with the comments section of your blog as you see fit when you get there!

    Comment by KellyO | November 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

