Red Sox Chick/Toeing the Rubber

Because you always need a backup plan

Remain calm, people

I refuse to get all freaked out about Josh Beckett’s oblique.  It’ll suck if he can’t pitch, but Tito says he can, so we’ll deal with it if/when it comes up.  I’m not letting Steve Freaking Buckley control my emotions right now.

I’m still way too happy that Jonathan Van Every and Devern Hansack had the huge hands in beating the Yankees last night.  The guys get to go on the trip to Anaheim on a high note and that’s what makes me happy.

I’m quite sad that the season is over.  Post-season is fabulous and I’m thrilled, but I so will miss the regular season games.   No games every night?  Man, that bums me out.  But we get that exciting post-season charge now…although we have to deal with two “off-days” first (then again, we get one more regular season game tonight – even if it isn’t Boston).

At some point, I’m thinking AFTER the post-season, I’ll have my own wrap up of the season…right now, I’m just looking forward to seeing how far into October this team will take us.

September 29, 2008 - Posted by | Randomness

4 Comments »

  1. I think the White Sox play at 2 p.m. and not tonight.
    You can watch Dancing with the Stars, Heroes or Prison Break instead. 😀

    I will also miss the regular season. When all my friends are complaining about summer reruns, I have more than enough TV to keep me occupied all summer long. Starting Wednesday I’ll be on baseball overload. I always say I’m not watching all the games but I do end up watching A LOT of baseball during the post season.

    Comment by Brenken | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’m with you Cyn…I hate when the regular season ends. In April, I start thinking…wow six months of baseball and it looms so large ahead that I am filled with excitement and anticipation. It seems like such a long time…and then in the blink of an eye…It’s October.

    Not complaining you understand…but baseball keeps me sane. Looking forward to going to Fenway every few weeks keeps me grounded through the life crap I can’t control. I’ve never been a winter person anyway but in the last few years it seems to me that I spend those months waiting for Spring Training to start. Christmas…it’s a deadline for contracts to be settled. Isn’t that awful? I imagine it’s my age but I am missing Fenway already. And, I was there yesterday!

    Who else can I vent to but you guys out there in Red Sox World…I am grateful for the post season which gives us a few more weeks but it is just not the same as greeting the guy at the parking lot, grabbing a beer at the Tavern, or chatting with all the people around me at my seat. I just love that experience and I miss it all winter long.

    Do you think I need a life??????

    Dori

    Comment by DORI | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. ::deep breathes:: Josh will be fine…

    I was SO happy that JVE got the walk off single! That was great!

    Brenken has a great line up of show tonight, I’ll be watching Heroes! 🙂

    Comment by Crys | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. Josh is going to be just fine. And not only play the 3rd game but win it.
    And sorry Brenken but I have watched and really don’t like the tv shows you recommended. Truthfully I watched a show I dvd over the weekend.

    Comment by Noni | September 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

